PLANTING VEGETABLES IN 14 DAYS | Day 3&4

Xingyu Quan
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 8, 2019

08/10/2019

After a few days, you can already see short-long tails sprout from green beans. At this speed, I doubt I can cultivate them in only one week…

Tiny tails

Because they were more or less grown, I was thinking if the space is too narrow for them. And I am also concerned if there were some beans decayed, so I take all beans out again and carefully check them one by one. Thankfully most of them were in good conditions, although I found around 5 beans with no sprouts out just as they were in the beginning. Besides, I also checked the smell from all beans and didn't find abnormalities in the first place. Gathering them back to the container, I started preparing my second subject.

2nd Subject

The day before yesterday, when I was in Esselunga, I bought 3 garlics for 1.68€… Thinking that this is super expensive, I silently decided to plant garlic 🤔. Since planting garlic was a homework when I was in primary school, the process I remember is not so complicated. Garlic is a versatile plant and can easily be grown in medium-sized containers. It grows quite happily in containers on a patio or balcony.

Yesterday I was just passing through a small flower shop on my way home. I bought two new pots and a pack of universal soil from the shop to prepare for my new subject.

Flower shop nearby

This morning I started making holes at bottom of the pot, and put some soil in it. Soils were quite softer than I expected, and they seemed also full of nutrients inside of them. After watering the soil to make them a little bit wet, I planted several garlics at least 3 inches apart in the pot. And placed them on my balcony, as I searched cold weather won’t affect garlics at all.

Waiting for the garlic’s green shoots 🌱…

--

--