PLANTING VEGETABLES IN 14 DAYS | Day 5–7

Xingyu Quan
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 12, 2019

09/10/2019

Yesterday, new members were added into my challenge.

They’re little salads sprouts gifted from my teammate - Arianna, she asked her grandfather to support my 14 days challenge, since he is an expert in this field and also he plants a lot of vegetables. Thanks for their sponsorship, now I have 3 different types of vegetables in my balcony. Feeling that I’m holding a small garden, it’s quite fulfilling. Meanwhile, I get broader responsibilities now. Because they are all living creatures, I have to make sure they can healthly grow up in my hand.

There are two different types of salads, one pot is for baby salad seeds, another one is for 14-day-old salads. The elder salads to be fed once in 2~3 days, and baby seeds need to be watered once a day as they need 24–7 wet soils. It’s good to plant both staging salads, as I can check different phases of salad at the same time.

In terms of my mung bean sprouts, they are getting longer and longer everyday. I felt proud of myself. Then I turned to take the 3 piece of papers out, afraid of restrit beans growing due to these heavy wet tissues.

11/10/2019

Getting up from bed, I directly go to check my vegetables. Like yesterday, I cannot see any changes of garlics.

Suddenly remember that yesterday Xiaoyong told me her family have always been growing garlics at home but without soils. Saying that garlics can grow much faster in bits of water. Thanks for her remind, I realized that I need to immediately change the way of planting garlics.

In addition, I can see tiny growing of salad sprouts, they seems a little taller than the first day 🤔. I was concerned if they would get sick due to frequent watering and yesterday’s rain. Maybe I worried too much.

No changes for babies

I found there are some tassels growed from bean sprouts 😳. According to search, they were grown because of lack of water, to absorb more humidity from around. As normally mung bean sprouts should be watered every 4 hours, but I cannot irrigate so frequently because of whole day classes. Thankfully, it’s not something bad for bean sprouts. Tomorrow I think I need to deal with decidous skins, since if I still keep them in the container with mung beans they would start to rot, even could effect on beans.

They are almost exceeding the height of containers…Maybe I need to prepare for a bigger container…

--

--