PLANTING VEGETABLES IN 14 DAYS | Day 8–10

Xingyu Quan
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 15, 2019

12/10/2019

Today I noticed my mung bean sprouts sprouted…🤣 What’s going on…?!

After searching for this, I understood it happens when mung beans received sunlight, but nothing with health issues. Apparantly, it happened because of the transparent plastic container. So I just decided to move my mung beans into new container that I bought several days before, at the same time I can also clean them and throw away extra bean pods.

Throwed pods

There were toooooo many beans, I suddenly asked myself what if I cooked some of them…?

For lunch

Though it looked not so good, but actually it tasted quite delicious. I think it was the best time in doing this challenge, with such a sense of accomplishment. Then I continue moving left beans into the new pot covered by a dishcloth. It would be better for their growing without to be subject to sunshine.

I walked into balcony and get surprised by another gift! My baby salads sprouted out!!! But I can still saw some babies are not in good conditions. Maybe because I watered them too frequently. I think I need to constrain myself not so ✌️diligently✌️.

They looks so delicious

After irrigating them, I put a whole garlic into a used plastic plate with a little water inside, as Xiaoyong suggested.

14/10/2019

Xiaoyong was right, the garlic sprouted so fast in water, I can already see some green sprouts insde garlic just in 2 days. They consistantly encourage me every once in a while, also including my little salads and mung bean sprouts. I think the primary planning was quite successful. Starting from these easy growing vegetables can keep me moving on, as I can see the result in a short period of time.

Again, mung bean sprouts growed out from the container. I think I need to cook them one more time in recent days.

--

--