Preliminary phase.

Alessandra Rota
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 10, 2019

Living with only 60 liters of water a day is not simple at all and this challenge is more complex than I thought. First of all I realized that, living in a house with 3 other people, I had to involve my family, inform and share this challenge with them. At the beginning was all a bit perplexing, but I convinced them to take their computers and after a few minutes we discovered a lot of information that amazed us and sometimes frightened too. One of these was that one of the main reasons leading to the waste of huge amounts of water is the poor maintenance of one’s domestic water supply. A dripping tap or a WC that loses water should not be overlooked: they can waste tens of liters of water a day. A correct maintenance, a gasket check or, if necessary, a small repair saves drinking water otherwise dispersed without being used.

To check that I do not have water leaks, it was enough that all the taps I own in the house and in the garage have been closed to check the counter does not turn, that means that there is no water withdrawal. Fortunately, I did not have any unpleasant revelations from this control, but I can’t hide the fact that I was rather anxious before “discovering the verdict”: I had never thought about the possibility that a small neglected failure would be so harmful in terms of drinking water waste.

Deepening the research we also came to know of the existence of some hydraulic elements called “frangigetto” (watersaver), applicable to home sinks. These small mixing objects are able to enrich the water jet with air, permitted a quicker wash. We have also discovered that applying a “frangigetto” to the taps of the house is a very simple and cheap operation that saves several thousands of liters of water every year. With 13 euros, through Amazon prime, I purchased a 25-pack of watersavers: abundant compared to the number of sinks that are present in my house, but enough to be installed in my family’s second home and to keep someone in case of possible replacements.

The following day all the purchase arrived on time and their installation allowed me to reduce the liters of water I use for my daily routine in the bathroom at the sink, from 20 to 8 liters of water. Good job!

--

--