Reflection on the challenge of the previous week

Qiu Yu
A diary of future lives
4 min readOct 16, 2019

After more than a week of the challenge, I went back and reflected on my previous problems and solutions so that I could continue my challenge better in the coming week.

During the last week, I was more or less tempted or forced not to complete the challenge.

How can I strengthen my resolution of being a Vegetarian?

  • 1.Know more about plant-based diet

First of all, we should know more about plant-based diet. What is it? What can it bring us? How can it affect us? Why do we have to carry out this challenge? Only when we know these answers we can reduce our desire for meat, and we can firmly say no when faced with temptation.

  • 2. share the resolution to others

When we are consciously wanting to be a vegetarian, it is essential that we should tell and share this message to people around us, such as relatives, friends, roommates, etc. They are also part of our lives at this time. They will affect your lifestyle, your diet, and you will be forced to change your eating habits. If you get their support, then this challenge will be easier.

How can I change my original eating habits and start making a vegetarian diet?

  • Change gradually.

It is not easy to change your eating habits first. It may be more effective by gradually changing. We can reduce the amount of meat from two meals to one meal a day, and then reduce the amount of meat from a meal to finally reach the goal of the vegetarian diet.

  • Try new food

If the vegetarian diet is just to remove the meat without expanding the food, then it may be quite boring. When we understand and try more vegetarian foods, we will discover the new world and make our vegetarian challenges more abundant and satisfying. For example, nuts. Nuts are usually eaten immediately, but when nuts and food collide, there may be different sparks.

  • Pay attention to nutrition

Because of the reduced intake of meat, it means that we lack the intake of animal protein, we have to supplement it by other means, so we have to choose a menu that suits our nutrition. For example, I like to drink milk. Since milk is produced by animals, I can choose another way to replace milk, such as soy milk, because rice and beans can also help people get balanced nutrition.

Plant and share vegetables

How can I achieve a plant-based diet with less money? Planting vegetables is a good choice. In Europe, I found that the price of vegetables and fruits is more expensive than the price of meat. Most vegetables and fruits need to be imported, but if we can grow vegetables ourselves and share the fruits and vegetables we grow with others, we can reduce the money, at the same time, the dish is not single, we can try more dishes, and establish a good relationship with friends and neighborhood.

  • Make a record or find a vegetarian group

Making a record can push you to reach the goal, and we can find a lot of problems when we do the challenge. Finding a vegetarian group can help you become a vegetarian, get support, and meet like-minded people. This is a great way to share recipes and get spiritual support for your choice.

The above is my summary and reflection on the plant-based challenge last week. I will continue my challenge next days and continue to improve the process of my challenges.

--

--