photo by Freepik

Smiling without sugar

Marcella Gadotti
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 15, 2019

--

Maybe things are finally getting better.

#Day 11: No more pumpkin seeds

I woke up wondering how many times would I think about snacks sugar during the day. Because I did not have time to have a breakfast at home, I just took a peach to eat along my way to the campus. During the day the pumpkin seeds were finished which made me feel apprehensive for not having nothing to chew. However the good consequence is that I drank much more water.

For the lunch time, my friend was very kind and prepared my lunch box on the day before with a very health meal: couscous with broccoli and a salad of lettuce, carrots and sunflower seeds. Because I am usually worried about spoiled food, I normally I prepare a salad to eat right away and not to be eaten after or on the next day. However it was delicious and in fact I think will be trying to the same next times.

As aways, after lunch I love to each something sweet and I wanted it even more during the class. But only water was available and started to get distracted because I didn’t know if was hungry or only missing sugar, however is worth mentioning that the sensation was not as strong as it was during the past week.

I asked to google why I was still craving for sweets and the answer came from a website about diabetes. Despite the side effects of sugar abstinence, seems that probably I did not find my diet balance yet:

Q: Why do I constantly crave sweets?
A: Craving sweets is often because we are not eating in a good balance, usually consuming too many carbohydrates. Carbs don’t stick around long after we eat them, so, if we do not eat a meal that has protein, some fat, and higher fiber carbs, our body will tell us it still needs fuel, and sweets are the quickest form of fuel we have, turning into sugar in our bloodstreams the fastest. And of course, staying active and exercising will help as well!

#Day 12: Smiling again

For the first time I can say that I finally started to feel better!
I still felt the need to each something sweet but my mood was much better and I was not that tired.

In fact by reviewing the things I have been eating lately, there was not much protein involved. Therefore today my breakfast was scrambled eggs and the lunch was a panino with mozzarella and prosciutto.

At the morning only pain was during a work group when again one of my colleagues opened a pack of Pan di Stella cookies and left it right in front of me. The only think I could think was how good would be to eat one of those cookies with a nice spoon of Nutella on the top of it. Instead, I woke up from the dream and eat some corn crackers with a very neutral taste…

However, I’m happy to celebrate the fact that in general I am thinking less and less about how awful is to be skipping opportunities to consume sugar. I hope that my body is finally being able to become independent of sugar, but if not, this shift of my mood seemed to be important sign that I was needing more attention to the proteins and carbohydrates that I have been consuming.

-
Thank you for your time,
the next days without sugar are coming soon…

Unlisted

--

--