Sticking to one thing requires your intelligence

chenfan zhang
A diary of future lives
4 min readOct 12, 2019

--

I have to say, just when I thought I was getting used to it, there were always unexpected interruptions. And because of this challenge, I have to keep thinking about how to reduce waste.

The challenge is halfway done, but I already create a lot of waste I have to say, and it is the result I already control myself. I can’t imagine how much rubbish I usually produce.

Because a lot of times I would really like to eat something, but those snacks are packaged in plastic.

11.10.2019 | Sticking to one thing requires your intelligence

I’ve been very hungry and snacking a lot lately. Perhaps it is because of winter that I always want to eat. So, I can’t control myself to test different snakes. Today, for example, I opened a bottle of pineapple juice from the nearby local supermarket. And the bottle is too big, because of that I think I made so much waste. That’s the reason why I have this idea to reuse this paper bottle.

Because my desk has a lot of small things, so I tried to transform it into a pen container, so I can put my watercolor pen into it to keep my desk clear. And meanwhile, I don’t need to buy a plastic container, I think it is a good idea, and thanks to that, I can drink milk again. (The bottle of milk in the supermarket always plastic.)

12.10.2019 | An irresistible desire

Because I sleep so late last day, so when I was preparing my water, I spilled it on the table by accident. Then I solved the problem with a small towel instead of wasting paper. And I have to say, the small towel may be the most useful thing I find during this challenge, and I believe it will be the first behavior I will decide to continue after 14 days.

However, a morning of concentration makes me want to eat something high-calorie, like the kebab I ate for a week. Then I decide to go to the restaurant to have a try, anyway, we didn’t cook last night.

I ask Federica to come with me as the role of the translator, but even we try to explain it is a lifestyle challenge, they still give us a lot of trash, which is probably the biggest waste I’ve generated this week, These trash contains a disposable styrofoam bowl, a non-biodegradable white trash bag, and a piece of tin foil.

Not every store can satisfy your request. After several tests, I found that even if we want to reduce some garbage in our daily life, the surrounding environment can’t help you, or even hinder your action. Because if you choose a “zero-waste” lifestyle in a big city, such as Milano. Each supermarket near your home that they provide package is single-use plastic. You have to find some solution by yourself which more wastes your time and energy. I cannot imagine if a man or women after a whole day hard work, they still enjoy spending maybe twice or third time to find some special supermarket which provides recyclable packaging.

The package they provide is a non-biodegradable bag

There are some things that you can’t decide completely because there are so many conditions in the environment that limit you. As though every time I took my lunch box, but not every restaurant to welcome me, more and more people to this challenge is never included in the scope of thinking, they are more to follow their own principles, such as restaurant staff why even if I don’t need tinfoil meat wrapped request, finally, they gave me a piece of tin foil paper, because they said this is a kind of “habits” or “required”, it is not easily changed in their view, may it is the customer’s don’t respect for them.

However, next week, I think I will actively try to do this test in some restaurants, which I think is very interesting and may also be helpful to the output of some of my later concepts.

--

--