The following walking days.

Julisncampos
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 17, 2019

After I focus my challenge on doing more walking, the first difficulty I faced, was a lack of sense of direction. With the habit of public transport, you stop paying attention to roads, to paying attention to which means of transport you need to use.

On the first day, I walked to the Politecnico (Which takes 40–50 minutes), I could see places I had never noticed before that was part of my route. With the facilities of GPS guidance services (Moovit; City Mappers; Google Maps) it’s much easier to find out the best routes, however, if you don’t pay attention to your path, you increase your dependence on your smartphone.

Having this in mind, on my second day I tried to walk by myself, of course, I forgot some details of the path and took me 15 minutes more to achieve my destination. Each time more, I could realize that those types of changes involve a lot of planning to not affect your daily schedule, and not only in terms of time, but even clothes as you are doing an exercise, but you have to attend class after that.

Another important aspect was the impact of the weather. As I mentioned in another post, this challenge was only possible due to the season we are in that has a perfect temperature (not too cold and not too hot). During summer, even 10 minutes walk became much more challenging and with increasing temperatures each year, I don’t know if it will still be possible.

By the end of the week (11/10) I succeeded in memorizing the path! Also, I could discover local stores that I never paid attention to before, for instance, a tea house in an English decoration style.

--

--