The Sustainable Relationships

Candepianca
A diary of future lives
2 min readOct 7, 2019

It is a fact that we are living in times when it is easier to have thousands of friends in Facebook, hundreds likes on Instagram, but is harder to meet new people, or even keep a real relationship through long time. Personally I believe that we are having a “Relationship Crisis”, and we are losing our capacity to interact with people face to face, to meet new ones and also to have a conversation with others in real life. There is a tendency in connecting people through social media and technology in general, which could be an advantage in terms of time and efficiency, but we are losing the most important part: the connection, impression, reliance and intuition that we have when we meet people for the first time.

Regarding that my group design topic is “Loving & Relationships”, I decided to make a challenge that drives myself to back into real and personal interactions. I will bring myself out of my comfort zone, I will break with all my prejudgements and limitations, and I will “force” myself to go outside and have real meetings.

Challenge: Amplify my contact network to one-two people per day. It has to be personal and direct contact with random people, in different circumstances. I need to exchange name, profession and some contact reference (personal card, instagram, mail, phone, etc). The aim is to build my own (and new)contact network only by personal and real interactions.

In a world where people hide behind the cellphone’s screen and isolate themselves from the world through their headphones, where it’s easier to give likes than make eye contact, I decide to challenge myself in order to increase my “real” network contact than the digital one, and to make relations more sustainable.

--

--