Time to Digital Detox V

Ryohei Kawagishi
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 17, 2019

Finally, the last day of my challenge of digital detox. These 4 days, I did not feel so happy even if I do not need to think about this challenge. Since I live in the internet-connected world, it was impossible not to use my iPhone at all but I think it was a good experience to take this challenge.

Those 3 screenshots above show how I reduced my usage of the iPhone. Before I began this challenge, I spent more than two hours with my phone and average more than one hour for checking SNS. However, at the end of the first week, I reduced to just half of the previous week and I found I used only one-third of usage of SNS. In addition, I could reduce more for SNS usage this week and the overall average as well.

Through this challenge, I think I could change mainly two points in my lifestyle. First, I do not care about SNS so much any more. I am not interested in what my followers are doing very much now, and I do not want to check everything the story of Instagram. Because SNS is sometimes very useful and I can collect some useful information actually, I will continue using them in the future. However, I am not pressured by them anymore and I am sure I can control myself much better than before. Second, I could spend a lot of time reading and studying for myself. Until 2 weeks ago, I watched YouTube or Surging SNS for a long time when I stayed home after school. Actually, I feel tired every time when I finish my school then I would like to have some relaxation time. Although I thought it was a good way for relaxing to watch YouTube or net surfing, I think it rather makes me excited than relaxed. Instead of doing this, I started reading books and studying English and Italian for improving my language skills. I could finish one book for Design thinking and I am more than half on the way of a book about Japanese design. On the other hand, I could continue learning languages all day without feeling bored. Those were enjoyable experience because I could know something new every day.

I have not imagined I could manage this challenge before beginning, but I am very satisfied with what I have done for two weeks. I could take a distance from the fastest flow of information reducing the iPhone usage and I found myself comfortable. I would like to keep on doing this activity for a better life.

--

--