Vegan Challenge — 14 Days

Selinyilmaz
A diary of future lives
3 min readOct 7, 2019

Being vegan has always seemed to me to be a very strict lifestyle. So I wanted to experience it in this 14-day challenge. I am really curious about both the daily environmental impact and the physical impact of this lifestyle. In general, I am a person who takes care of balanced nutrition. I spread the food I eat all week and make sure to consume foods containing vegetables, fruits and protein within a week. I also like to eat sugary and carbohydrate foods. I hope to see how my eating habits will change at the end of this 14-day experience.

FIRST APPROACH

First, I did some research on the internet about being vegan. I watched videos and read articles on the subject. I didn’t know this diet, so I looked for vegan recipes. I made myself a few daily shopping lists and went out to observe in different markets. I went to a big market where I usually shop. I bought vegetables and fruits that I normally like to consume. I also got vegan dishes ready to try. In the first place, I cannot tell myself that I have enough motivation to prepare complicated vegan dishes. I usually consume a maximum of two meals a day. I will continue to maintain this routine with this diet. Of course it was not easy to find vegan products in the market. Apart from the vegetables, fruits and legumes available, I cannot say that there is much choice. Moreover, prices are more expensive than other products.

A few days of shopping

4th october

Today I chose my challenge: go vegan for 14 days. I’ll start tomorrow.

5th october

My first day as a vegan.

I like to have breakfast at the weekend. Especially for a Turkish, weekend Turkish breakfast is plentiful and very important. But I skipped this meal because I wasn’t too keen on a vegan breakfast (which was pretty sad for me). I went to the market with the shopping list I prepared and did a few days of shopping. In the afternoon I cooked steamed broccoli and ate it. I also consumed herbal tea during the day.

6th october

I ate one banana in the morning and consumed herbal tea as a snack. And then, I ate a mixed vegetable salad in the afternoon. While the pasta and chocolates in my food locker are staring at me, it’s hard not to eat them. I’d say I was hungry at night.

7th october

I started the day eating bananas again. Since I was very busy all day, I didn’t eat anything until the evening. I ate the green zucchini dinner that I prepared for the evening. Today I thought I had to enrich my food alternatives. Because it really pushes me to eat like this. I have to go shopping for alternative food. Maybe I should discover more vegan markets.

Some images of the meals I prepare.

--

--