Barbara Ehrenreich

activist, writer, scientist, journalist, searcher, teacher, RIP

Jeff Clayton
A Different Fish
1 min readSep 7, 2022

--

Barbara Ehrenreich has died, and I wanted to briefly sing her praises and recommend some reading. Ehrenreich was one of my favourite writers. Her activist work was riveting and bold (Nickel and Dimed was amazing), but it is three books of another sort which I return to again and again: Blood Rites, an examination of our warlike tendencies, Dancing in the Streets, an examination of collective joy, and Living with a Wild God, a memoir that is hard to describe but a great read. I recommend these books to anyone who wants to benefit from her powerful mind.

I thank her for helping build my own mind, and wish her well with her new job as an Angel in Heaven.

A proper post is in process, but this was on my mind. I hope you are well, that your school years are starting off nice, and that you’re looking forward to wearing a sweater like I am.

xo

jep

--

--

Jeff Clayton
A Different Fish

Writes A Different Fish and Music of the 80s. Comics and words etc.