When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Miha Matlievski
A Different Perspective
4 min readJan 9, 2017

Are you one of the people, who is throwing away his live doing meaningless things? Then wake up sleepy head! Start small and build your way up. No, I’m not talking about making money nor building a career. And especially this post is not about how to become flawless robot that cannot feel a thing. That’s why I challenge you to join me in “one new thing per week”. It’s the thing that came to my mind after attending school reunion in 2014.

But now let’s start at the beginning.

Getting up and falling again

We are allowed to fall and then stand up again just to fall again. Believe me, there is nothing wrong with this dynamic. It is called learning. A school of life is something entirely different than educational institutions that shape us into those grey molded thinkers.

Perhaps even with an intention to keep us down when life shows its teeth. But there is nothing, absolutely nothing you will not be able to handle if you put your mind to it.

Remember, remaining on the ground is not the right way to your happiness. Failure is not making mistakes or not achieving individual goals. Failure is giving up after those hard times.

You need to stay true to yourself and live your life in a way you will be able to look at yourself with pride and satisfaction. Embrace those basics you have learnt in regular school, store them deep inside and make space for some serious learning, the learning of everyday life.

Yesterday already happened and affected today tremendously, but there is not much you can do to save the Yesterday. Focus on here and now and build up your tomorrow so that you can become the best version of yourself.

Grow by your OWN standards

Even though, we are social beings we sometimes need to discard others and focus on ourselves. Altruism and sincerity are two very powerful words that need to be seriously revived in today´s world and way of living.

Many people do not even know the exact meaning of these two words and that is why building ourselves to live a happy, content and self-confident life is of great importance.

Certain individuals would do anything to keep you down in order to remain in charge. The only way to stand up to those kinds of characters is to think outside the box and grow by your own standards.

Create a compelling personality to become a stronger and healthier person. Keep in mind that this process starts and ends with filling up the void within. Doubt, fear, and procrastination are the perfect environment to become a sad, broken puppet, moaning about your life and not doing anything to improve the situation. Constantly remind yourself that we are human beings, and human beings are allowed to feel.

Wake up and look within!

Happiness is not about owning big houses, expensive cars and all kinds of diplomas on your wall. On the other hand, misery is not a personal bankruptcy, credits to pay off and work-home-work routine. Happiness and misery are merely state of your mind, reactions to situations created for you and by you.

If you decide to take the positive road, start small, take one day at the time and introduce new options to your life. One of the worst things you can do is doing nothing. Walking aimlessly in small circles will make you depressed, morbid and most of all unhappy.

Now to the school reunion …

I attended school reunion at the end of 2014. And boy, I came to some conclusions. Honestly, I was shocked when I have realised that most of the things were still the same as they were 10 years ago. The same conversations about school, work and family, even the problems were pretty much identical.

Almost nothing has changed since our last reunion, and at that point, I have decided, to start my personal project and introduce some novelties to my life. If you do not make changes and push borders a little, life will run you over sooner rather than later. I bet you already heard that your dreams are outside your comfort zone.

That’s why the project “One new thing per week” started

After deciding to do or try something for the first time in my life every single week, big or small, life in 2015 got very busy. In order to absorb as much as I could, I kept a diary of my activities. I was writing down all my feelings and observations about not only the actual experiences but also about many other personal reflections accompanying this process as well.

Diary slowly turned into a planner and ideas of what I could be trying out in following weeks were pouring from all over. I was so fascinated with my project that in the end, I have not tried only 54 new things but more likely 130–150 new things throughout the whole year.

I visited countries I never visited before, done things I could only dream of just 1 year ago, tried new and amazing food and drinks and I could go on and on — it truly was an amazing year! Best of all I met some truly amazing people that influenced my life tremendously.

Thanks for reading! I’d really appreciate it if you ❤ this post so other people can find it.

P.S. If you enjoyed my article, I invite you to click “Follow” button below.

--

--

Miha Matlievski
A Different Perspective

Overcome: ▪️Depression ▪️Anxiety ▪️Stress ▪️Failure ▪️Need help from someone who championed those demons? Let’s talk! Reach out on FB!