What do you do all day?

M.L.S. Roessler
a distant read
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2016

It’s maybe the most common thing people ask me. What do you do all day? It takes me by surprise every time. What do I do? I don’t know, what do you do? Do I do anything? What have I ever done?

I reassure myself that I do, in fact, do lots of different things. But the first answer that pops into my head is the same one. What do I do all day? I read.

And read.

And read some more. Books, papers, screens, scribbles, whatever. For all that I’m more connected with nature than ever here on Krangket island, I am also extremely buried in text. I read with my morning tea (local PNG leaves spiced with some moringa I bought at the market and dried out on a table in the ever-burning sun). If I stay on the island, then I read throughout the day, in my living room, or lying on the grass, or perched on the shore above the coral jetty. It doesn’t matter much where I sit; it’s always hot and I can always see the ocean. The sun arcs above it, sparkling against the waves. As it gets darker, I read by candlelight and before I go to sleep, I swallow several last sentences in bed.

There are some other answers I could come up with too. Writing, for example. That’s a big one. I am writing my dissertation, hacking at it bit by bit, slimming it, shaping it, trying to lend it elegance without shaving away all its weight. I have also started writing a novel. That’s not in any kind of form yet, just a lot of soap bubbles and shadows.

But both the thesis and the novel are actually, in large part, just different reasons to read. For my dissertation, obviously, I’m reading a bunch of philosophy and a few choice bits of cognitive psychology. For the novel I am doing research too, on mining and witchcraft and local myths. And just as importantly, I am reading fiction. Yes the fiction is partly pure indulgence thank God, but as I start this new project, it feels like research too. How do you tell a story? How do you enchant a character onto a page? And also, why? Why do I read? What do I want out of it? How can I give that to others?

The last book I finished was a collection of Alice Munro short stories, The Love of a Good Woman.

Aside from being delightful qua indulgence (yes that word leaked in from my thesis, but can we make qua not just an academic word? It’s so pretty. If I had a band I think qua is the name I’d choose for it…) they were also a great help in answering the why question. Munro writes with this lovely, quiet sense of distance. She might visit a character in a moment of drama and turmoil, but then she skips forward forty years and checks in on the same woman. The stories sum up entire lives.

There is a poignant tragedy to that, but there’s relief too. When I look around at my own life, after having read these stories, I feel less inclined to scratch at it in some pointless, anxious digging for meaning. What am I doing? What am I doing all day? Where am I and why and should I be somewhere else???

Here I am, I have learned to say with that holy, distant calm, and there I am going. I feel the finality of my role in the universe and it’s a wonderful relief. So that’s part of why I keep obsessively reading.

But I swear, I do other things too. For example, volleyball!

This game is right next door to my house, and it turns out, volleyball is one of the precious few sports I am not horrible at!

I now get exercise beyond trudging through the heat to and from the boat-stop and up and down the market lanes. Hooray for team sports!

Also, I’m flying to Brisbane on Monday! To get a new visa for my new job! Oh all the things I am doing. I will try to keep up a better schedule of posting here to keep all you my beloved ones up to date on them.

Big hugs from the Friendship Library.

This pic is not in the Friendship Library, it’s of me and Rachel and Rachel’s kid watching volleyball before I got up the nerve to join in. Rachel has a killer spike.

--

--