A Look Into the Past

Photo Wild Card

Alaina Giangiobbe
A Family as Fine as Rafanelli Wine
5 min readDec 5, 2018

--

And Now…

When I went home one weekend at the beginning of the semester, I found all of these pictures in bins in my house. At the time, my Nonno was living with us, and he was able to tell me exactly who was in all of the photos and mostly where they were in each photo. It was so much easier for me to visualize who my relatives were and what they were like when they were younger by looking through these pictures. That is the moment I knew I wanted to do this project on the Rafanelli side of my family.

It is true what they say: A picture is worth a thousand words. I think this photo gallery really captures what life was like and how much my family enjoyed spending time together. I chose to conclude my project with this photo/ video gallery because I think it is more interesting to see pictures of what happened than to be simply told about our relatives’ past lives. I can add to this gallery throughout my life and make it into something more than just a project in my freshman year English class. This website can become an archive for my family to add to so that the generations to come may see where we started and where we ended up.

My mom Renee’s Communion.
Nonno, Ignatius, Marta, Granda Rafanelli and Grandma Rose on the left: young and on the right: grown.
Carlo and Rose Rafanelli.
My Nanny and Nonno
My Uncle Carl writing a letter to his cousin Lisa from the military.
Left: My mom Renee as a child.
Left: Nonno and his friends when they were young. Right: Nonno and Aunt Josie.
Nonno working at the pizza parlor and standing in front of the cars he used to buy and sell. Big businessman!
Left: Christmas 2017. Right: Megan and James’ wedding 2017.

--

--