Workflow

Erin Hyde
A few thoughts about music production
1 min readApr 6, 2018

Honestly, I think half the reason I watch Youtube tutorials on music production is to get a glimpse at other people’s workflow. I really like this guy’s tutorials above, and what I think I admire most is his ability to get ideas down and bring them to a professional level.

I struggle to not get bogged down in smaller parts of the whole production process and to be honest it kills my creativity after a while because I end up feeling like I’m getting nowhere. So, I definitely want to get a few tools under my belt to allow me to work more smoothly.

A few things that got me thinking in this tutorial were a) I need to learn how to mix really really well, and b) that I definitely should start creating some pre loaded instrument/drum/effects racks to smooth out the whole production process. I think I’m definitely gonna go off and make a few tools like the quick edit rack SeriBeats has got going on at 1:22:05 in the video.

--

--