Two men in an office kitchen making coffee and tea
Photograph by Mike Peel (www.mikepeel.net)

The last biscuit

Sally Goble
A flash in the pan

--

Lucy: Hi! John, isn’t it? Hi! The kettle’s just boiled. Are you having tea? Coffee? Can I pass you something?

John: Yeah that’s right… A teabag thanks.

Lucy: Builders? Or one of these other ones? Lapsang Soushong — whatever that is? Earl Grey? Peppermint? Green tea?

John: Ah no, just builders is fine. Thanks.

Lucy: I don’t know who drinks that other stuff… give me a Yorkshire Teabag any day… Here. Give me your mug I’ll fill it up… Say ‘When’.

John: When.

John: Thanks.

Lucy: Do you want some milk? It’s normal milk. Shit. I shouldn’t call it normal should I? Sorry. Do you want some other milk? “Non-normal” milk? Ugh. Soy? Almond? Something else? Sorry!

John: That’s fine, thanks.

Lucy: Oh no! We’ve run out of teaspoons again. I don’t know why people don’t wash up their stuff after they’ve done. Ugh. Let me fish one out of the sink…ugh…disgusting…Found one! Let me just wash this up… OK. Voila! Let me just get my teabag out before it gets too strong. Phew. Right. Here you go. You don’t mind sharing do you?

John: No, that’s fine. Thanks.

Lucy: Right. Great. All sorted… John, ummmmmm, ughhhh. I mean… I saw the announcement today on the intranet. I’m sorry.

John:

Lucy: Are you OK?

John:

Lucy: It really sucks, John, I’m sorry.

John:

Lucy: I don’t know what to say…

John:

Lucy: Hobnob, John? Can I pass you a Hobnob? Rich Tea?

--

--