This photo came from http://deathtothestockphoto.com

Why I created The Portfolio Workshop

Dennis Field
A Designer’s Guide
5 min readNov 5, 2014

--

In 2008 I decided it was time for me to make a change in my career and give freelancing a try. With confidence and only one client who was willing to pay me $5,000 dollars to work on her new brand and website, I put in my two weeks and set out on the journey. I was motivated and ready to make things happen for myself as a designer. Sound familiar? Most of it probably does. However, things nearly came to a halt for me before I could even hit the ground running.

This really sounds crazy, but on my first day of becoming a full-time freelancer, I was having lunch at a sub shop and watching the news when the experts came on the TV and officially said that the country was in a full blown recession. I remember the moment very clearly. I heard the news, took a sip of my drink, waited for my stomach to stop turning and stared at the TV. With confidence I then told myself, “If I could make it through this recession, I’d have no problem with my business once the economy got better. I can do this.” There was one small problem with my theory. I literally just had that one client with an agreement to pay me $5,000 dollars once the project was completed. I had no clue how long the recession was going to last and no clue what my next project was going to be. All I really knew was what I thought was going to be an easy ride just got a bit more scarier for me.

I knew I couldn’t change the timing of things so I just decided to create the best brand and website that I could ever create for that one single client. I figured at the very least maybe that one client would lead me to the next client. If not, I figured I’d simply go back to the company I was working for in the past. They said they’d have me be back if things didn’t work out anyways. Well, I was wrong again. Just about the time I was wrapping up that project, the design industry began to feel the effects of the recession and that company I thought I could quickly jump back to work with, just went through their second layoff. It became really apparent to me that I had to make this work because my options were becoming really slim.

I worked hard and luckily to buy me some additional runway that project did lead to another project. It was a small $600 dollar postcard series that was slated to last a few months. Just like before, I was hanging onto the hope that maybe once I completed that project it could also lead to a new project. What a way to try and survive right? Here’s the problem with this “strategy.” It’s enormously risky. Like many freelancers I had no other option though. How was I going to market myself? I didn’t have any focus. All I could do was continue to work on one project at a time. I was simply relying on referral projects to fall into my lap. I honestly had no other way to market myself. The only thing I knew was that I was targeting small businesses. With that in mind, I threw an ad in the Yellow Pages of the phone book. I figured everyone would be calling me. Wrong again. Only once did get a phone call through that ad. It was from a random person who wanted to chat during a power outage we had. I suppose he was board with a lighter flipping through the phone book. That avenue was obviously useless. So here I was back to relying on referrals. My runway was running out and I knew this wasn’t sustainable long term for me.

Over the course of these six months I’d often go months with no work. The economy just wasn’t interested in spending money and when I’d win a project it rarely cracked the thousand dollar mark. I knew if I was going to make this work I needed to take control over the sales funnel of my business. Before the turn of the new year that’s what I decided to do. With even more design freelancers in an already crowded market (because agencies were not hiring), I needed to find a niche. So over the course of a few months that’s what I began to do.

It was a ton of work, but the outcome was enormous. I finally had a position in the market and over a short period of time I found myself not just booking projects, but booking projects that I actually enjoyed working on and were more profitable than previously. Perhaps the best thing about this was that I finally had control over my freelance business and with a clearer idea on how to market it, I immediately began to see the results. I doubled my income for that year and made it through the recession when others didn’t.

I’ve come along way since 2008 and if I didn’t develop a clear niche then I probably wouldn’t be where I am today. Sure, I’ve changed that niche from time to time, but I’ve always had a clear niche offering. It’s that clear offering that’s allowed me to become even more valuable and profitable as a freelancer by improving other aspects of my business while keeping that foundation in place.

Here’s why I created the workshop.

So if you’re wondering why I’ve decided to create this workshop, it’s because I’m often asked by freelancers (who are either just starting out or are struggling to grow their current freelance business) how I’ve done it. I’m honestly a living example on how. I was right there with many of you. Struggling to figure it out. Sure, tons of things come into play with creating and running a successful freelance business, but defining a clear position in the marketplace is needed before you can even think about those other things.

So there you have it. This is why I’m making the exact process that I use to find a position in the marketplace available to you. Even better, I’m making myself available to help you through this process through coaching.

If you haven’t signed up yet for your chance at becoming a part of The Portfolio Workshop’s inaugural class that launches tomorrow, I recommend you do so. I’m confident it will begin to point your freelance business in the right direction almost immediately.

Do you want to learn more and get notified when The Portfolio Workshop launches?

Visit the landing page and jump on the list to get notified.

If you know of anyone else who you think would love to be a part of this inaugural class, feel free to point them to the sign-up page. I’d hate for them to miss out. If you have any question about the workshop just ask.

--

--

Dennis Field
A Designer’s Guide

I’m a designer solving People challenges @InVision. I also wrote a book that helps other designers reach their goals. Learn more: http://bit.ly/1fAgk4