Why I’m writing a blog about the Video Game Industry

Duart Rankin
A Game Odyssey
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2021
Image by MasterTux.

“Document. Don’t Create.” (Gary Vaynerchuck)

I’m going on an adventure.

Over the coming weeks I will be sharing a blog post every Tuesday about my journey in learning more about the video games industry. I hope it can help people who are also interested in joining the industry, but I also think it will be beneficial to me personally. The two ways I think this blog will help me is firstly, formalising my research process. Having recently completed a master’s in public relations and communications I found I learnt the most when writing an essay or literature review on a topic. And secondly, I want to practice my writing skills and have something to share as an example of my work. Being able to practice my writing skills on a topic I’m personally interested in makes the process easier.

I would like to point out that I’m not an expert yet, far from it, this is me sharing my journey of learning and discovery.

I plan on keeping every post short and sweet, between 300 to 800 words. I’m not writing a novel and if I were reading this personally, I wouldn’t want to read any more than that at any one time. I’ll be writing to you as if I’m there with you, sharing these ideas in person. That means I’ll try to be my light-hearted self but also reference my claims and research with a bibliography at the bottom of each post. I already have some topics in mind to work on, and I would love to get feedback and comments on any topic people would also be interested in or think I would find interesting to research and write about.

It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to. (J.R.R. Tolkien, the Lord of the Rings)

References

Vaynerchuck. G. 2017. Document, Don’t Create: Creating content that builds your personal brand. Available at: https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/creating-content-that-builds-your-personal-brand/ [Accessed: 25/01/2021].

Tolkien, J. R. R. 1978. The Lord of the Rings / Part 1, The fellowship of the Ring. 2nd ed. ed. London: London : Allen and Unwin.

--

--