Introducing AH Reviews

Shooby Kandel
A.H. Reviews
Published in
3 min readDec 22, 2017

For a while now, we’ve been wanting to review Kickstarter and Indiegogo projects that caught our eye but we hadn’t found the right medium. We saw a gap in the market where no one was actively reviewing these products or testing them against their claims so we decided to jump in.

We began with a Youtube Channel.

Half asleep at 6am (so it was quiet) on a Saturday morning, we realised that the perfect spot we’d chosen for our video meant that the sun was shining directly onto our faces.. We were definitely unprepared and this shows in the video. We ended up with over 50 minutes of video content and many bloopers that needed to be edited and cut down to a maximum of 5 mins per product. This was an extremely time consuming process that really didn’t suit our busy lifestyles and we realised that we could multiply our content output by switching to a blog format — which brings us here today.

Who Are We? (Is this how you pronounce Huawei?)

That one ‘decent’ photo you took a few years ago..

My name is Shooby and I have a Bach. in Entrepreneurship & Innovation. I run a creative agency called Mude and i’m passionate about all things tech. When i’m not pursuing little side ventures like this one, I’m blogging about other things that interest me and travelling the world.

My name is James and I am completing my Honours for my Bach. in Entrepreneurship and Innovation. I currently work for a Canberra based consultancy on gamification (I design gamified experiences to make work more fun). I’ve been a barista since I was 13 which led to my interest in business and innovation. I love trying new innovations and seeing what the next big thing is going to be.

Why Kickstarter and Indiegogo?

We’re both early adopters of new technologies and love trying new things. So naturally, we found ourselves backing projects on sites like Kickstarter. We have varying interests which play a key role in our ability to review the products and provide a balanced opinion. This is integral as it allows us to take a new approach to our reviews where one of us is explaining the product and why we bought it to the other. Trying to convince them why its amazing.

We’re aiming to release bite sized reviews on the innovative products we come across and amass a follower base that is getting real value out of our reviews. Once the snowball starts rolling, we might launch a podcast or get back to making videos. Properly this time!

Give us a follow and stay tuned for some awesome reviews of products. We’ve got heaps on the way :) If you want to get in touch, we’re always happy to chat.

Regards,

The A.H. Team

--

--

Shooby Kandel
A.H. Reviews

Co-Founder —www.mude.agency | Reckless musings from a young entrepreneur passionate about innovation, lifestyle and change.