Some favorite moments with our lion cub at 5.5 mos (#motherhood, #parenting)

The Lion
A House Rises — Parenting Posts
1 min readJun 5, 2017
  • Waking up: when our lion cub wakes in the morning, he is playful and cheerful, ready to take on the day. He’s excited to see both his parents in the morning, smiling and kicking and squirming in response to our morning greetings! The morning feels so optimistic and hopeful, and I am excited too, to see what our cub is going to learn today!
  • Nursing: breastfeeding has been quite a challenge for us (more on that in another post…), so I really cherish the time I get to spend with him nursing. My favorite spot is in our master bed where we can snuggle under the covers and maybe even fall asleep. I feel so relax and at peace, like everything is right in the world…
  • Bedtime: our bedtime routine is to shower, have some milk, and then lay our cub down to sleep. The Lion used to be the one to do this, but one day the responsibility switched to me and now I look forward to this every night. Sleep is SO important for our health and well being, and I am glad I get to help Little Lion figure this out. I love winding down with him in the shower, getting him cleaned up, then feeding him in a dimly lit room as he’s “scratching” his ear and playing with his hands, and then laying him down, seeing him smile at me one last time, and then getting sleepier and sleepier… Leaving the room is the hardest part!!!

--

--