Are you thinking about getting an External Cephalic Version (ECV) to turn your breech baby? I just had one.

Here’s my experience.

Anna Dunworth
A Hue to Hold

--

This is my second pregnancy, but my first breech baby. Baby #1 was a relatively easy pregnancy and delivery, with few complications beyond the usual first-time-mom stuff. Baby #2, on the other hand, has been much more difficult.

Do you know what nobody really tells you about breech babies? They HURT. Maybe not all of them, but my little girl spent the past few months with her head pressing against my ribcage in an extremely uncomfortable way. I had no idea breech positioning could cause this constant, achy, exhausting sort of pain. Honestly, I thought I was being a wimp until I spoke to my aunt, who shared that her five (!) breech kids all hurt like hell too.

If your baby is breech, you have a few options. You can wait and hope they turn naturally, let them stay breech and likely have a c-section delivery, or attempt an ECV or “version” to turn them around manually.

Let’s talk about an ECV from the perspective of a regular mom who just had the procedure done. I have no medical background, just a recent experience to share with other moms considering an ECV.

What is an ECV or “version”?

--

--

Anna Dunworth
A Hue to Hold

A writer, mom, and former history teacher here to share ideas and connect with you. Learn more at www.annadunworth.com 💫