Lesson 1: Do the Work

Maxwell Wessel
A Journey of Practical Philosophy
2 min readApr 15, 2019
Brad Loftus, courtesy of BCG

I started my career at the Boston Consulting Group. I also started my career with a bit of a chip on my shoulder. You see, I was extremely lucky to find my way to BCG. I didn’t look like your typical hire. Unlike my BCG classmates, I didn’t have a sterling transcript or attend an Ivy League college. I did well, played sports, and prided myself on being somewhat well rounded. But when I met the folks at BCG, I was blown away. It seemed like BCG was only accepting the top graduates from the top schools at every single location. Engineers and economists with high honors, dual degrees, and professional plans that extended decades into the future.

I was just someone who lucked into an interview and convinced them to take a chance on me. I didn’t want to waste it. So I worked hard. I worked so hard that people took note. Soon I found myself working with some of the best partners for some of the highest profile projects for key clients. It changed my career.

But the chip stayed on my shoulder. I was always wondering when people would figure out that I was the impostor. Everyone else was an intellectual superstar. I was just the one scraping by, willing to work an extra couple of hours a day.

Then, late one night (and when I say late, at BCG that meant after 2AM), I recall cracking open a beer with Brad Loftus, now a Senior Partner at the firm, after putting the finishing touches on a presentation. In my tired state, I let my insecurity slip out.

Brad shared a similar story. But more importantly, Brad let me in on a secret. Investors, consultants, executives… few of them are just smart enough to merit their enormous success. BCG might screen on academic success — but only as a gauge of work ethic. The reality is that no one in the firm that was smart enough to work half as hard as the average. The secret to doing great work wasn’t a sterling resume, it was ducking your head and getting it done.

I’ve never forgotten Brad’s observation. Brad taught me in that moment never to shy away from building the presentation, getting into excel, writing prose, or diving into a database when the job requires it. His guidance impacts how I hire, how I lead, and how I manage our organization. It instills a sense of paranoia and a sense of humility.

It’s a simple lesson. But it’s a very important one. Do the work. There is no substitute.

--

--

Maxwell Wessel
A Journey of Practical Philosophy

President @ Degreed. Believer in human potential. Repeat founder. Recovering VC. Faculty member. Lucky recipient of great friends, family, and colleagues.