The Lessons

A Journey in Practical Philosophy

Maxwell Wessel
A Journey of Practical Philosophy
1 min readApr 15, 2019

--

A few months ago, I was asked by a member of my team what my personal philosophy was towards work. I’d just published a list of leadership principles and it had piqued his interest about how I approached the rest of my career.

It was an interesting question. I promised that I would go back and try to synthesize things for him. I struggled. It was hard to look at my thought process, my behaviors, and my decisions and condense them into a group of pithy values. I found myself returning again and again not to specific principles, but the most important lessons that I’ve learned from mentors throughout the years.

I’ve been blessed to work with brilliant, caring, individuals who’ve always given me the opportunity learn from them. They’ve given me the extra hours and openness to transform my perspective on how I approach each day. And as I thought deeply about my personal philosophy, it seemed easier to articulate it by focusing on the key lessons I learned from mentors throughout the years. These were the formative interactions that shaped my perspective — and it wouldn’t do them justice to simply boil them down to a list of values.

So that is what I’ve decided to share. Over the next few months, I will publish the most important lessons I’ve learned from the people that have influenced me the most.

--

--

Maxwell Wessel
A Journey of Practical Philosophy

President @ Degreed. Believer in human potential. Repeat founder. Recovering VC. Faculty member. Lucky recipient of great friends, family, and colleagues.