I spent 28 days without Social Media or Internet — Why should we all take a break?

Shadi K. Kandil
A Journey on Planet Earth
2 min readJul 21, 2020

--

Hello friend,

It has been some time since I came to the digital world, it was just a decision to reduce my daily engagement with social media and it has extended to completely isolating myself from the digital world and using my mobile only for work and important calls/messages.

I started turning off the Wi-Fi a few hours a day, then whole days!

It was very difficult, in the end, I work online, this is what I do for a living, and I share posts or stories almost every day, but I really wanted to take a break from this virtual world with all its pros and cons, perhaps to find things that disappeared in the wheel of this accelerating world, or maybe to seek some inner peace by turning away from the daily news, trends, people’s opinions and stories.

For about a month, I have been dealing with the real world without much desire to share or document on the Internet, without knowing everything that happens around me and saying my opinion about it!

What I want to say is that we all need to find space to disconnect even for a day, I know it is almost impossible nowadays, but we should try to slow down a bit, we should try to share a long conversation/experience without looking at the phone or the smartwatch every

--

--