Au-Stro Hungary to learn more:

A Project proposal

Isabel Onufer
A Journey to Find my Own
10 min readApr 30, 2019

--

My Dad and Grandfather Messing Around

A Project proposal

Ever since I was young, I would wake up on April Fool’s day knowing my father would be excited for a day of pranks. As the day begins, he lines up prank calls and classic pranks to fill the day with humor. One memorable day, my dad began to make juvenile phone calls to pizza places. He began by going on the internet that had famous funny phrases and picking up the phone to place it by the speaker of the computer. I would continually say, “Stop Dad” because I would get embarrassed, however, he would find the simple prank so humorous that it would bring a smile to everyone’s face. Researching more into my family’s Slovak roots, I found out that April Fools day is highly celebrated in Slovak areas. Although in Slovakia, the holiday is called All Fools Day, and people shout “Fool” after they prank their peers. This Slovak tradition has been passed down for hundreds of years to my family, and I just now have learned why the jokes are so important to my family.

When I first began my research project, I was confused about where my roots were centered. When I found out my ancestors were from Slovakia, I only had one question. Where exactly is Slovakia?

Austro-Hungarian Empire

It makes sense for an average everyday American to not know where Slovakia is, so there is an easy way to explain where Slovakia is and why it is not too well known. During the period in which my great-great-great grandparents traveled over to the United States, the area that they came from was divided into many different regions. The area previously mentioned was controlled by the Austro-Hungarian Empire prior to World War I, which included the country of Slovakia as well. This certain area of land in Central Europe can be difficult to discuss and pinpoint due to the issues of control during wars and revolts. The revolts and wars led to changes in the empires and governments throughout the 1800s and 1900s. The area of these countries is often confused with one another as they have at some point been all apart of the same empire.

When beginning the English 1102 course, I was picturing long essays over random novels that would have little interest to me. However, I soon found out that I would be focusing on my own family, and I could dive into the history of something that would intrigue me for years to come. Having a book of my dad’s side of my family truly sparked my interests into farther investigating my ancestors, however, the project pushed me to learn the most I could: push factors of immigration, traditions of origin countries, the religion of my ancestors, and anything that could be unique to my bloodline.

I have always wanted to know why my family acts and behaves in the way they do, why we have certain habits and ways when it comes to life. This project allows me to look into the traditions, culture, food choices, religion, the list could go on forever. It is interesting to me that traditions can pass down from generation to generation and that is why each story is so different and interesting, it is why people can connect to one another and relate to one another. People can find a connection with another person’s story, and that is what makes this project so eye-opening and engaging. I want people to read my story and find a way to connect it to their own lives.

My great-great Grandmother with my Grandfather and Great Aunt

Timeline of the Onufer family:

1720–1840

During this time, Slovakians began to migrate due to Magyarization. The process of Magyarization can be described as the assimilation of non-Hungarian people into the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The non-Hungarian people were forced to adopt the Hungarian culture, language, and social aspects. Most individuals voluntarily agreed to abide by the new culture; yet, some were forced to surrender their past ways, however, if one refused to embrace the new culture, they typically left and migrated to a new area where they did not have to change their culture. Another issue that led to mass immigration out of Slovakia was the huge population increase. In 1720, the population was one million, whereas, in 1840, the population was 2.4 million. There was no way to accommodate the immense amount of people in such a small space; therefore, this left many people without land and without jobs. Due to this issue, the only way to survive was to emigrate. Many Slovakians started to immigrate to America due to the large amounts of land and job opportunities in the country.

1858

A key point in tracing back my family was the time when my great-great-great-great grandfather was baptized, it allowed for me to view the exact area in Slovakia that my family was located, and this place happened to be called Lukov. The church in Lukov happens to have a story behind it and to this day is a tourist attraction in Slovakia. The church was called the“wooden church of Saints Cosmas and Damian”, and it is very well-known in the Catholic faith.

Wooden Church of Saint Cosmas and Damian

The story behind the saints is that they were twins, born in Arabia, and they attained a great reputation over the years. They accepted no pay for their services and were, therefore called, “the silverless”. In this way, they brought many to the Catholic Faith. When the Diocletian persecution began, Cosmas and Damian were arrested and the persecutors ordered them to recant. They remained constant under torture, and they suffered no injury from water, fire, air, nor on the cross, and were finally beheaded with a sword. The story is fascinating and pulled me to want to learn more about the old wooden church. This church allowed me to learn not only an incredible story of saints but also learn the religion of my ancestors.

1914

“BANG.”
World War I began to dispute into mass chaos in Europe at this time. The Germans were beginning to look to expand their empire, the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The Slovaks happened to be one of those cultures.

1915

1915, the time of the next known document of the Onufer family. In this year, my great-great grandparents entered into America through Ellis Island. They worked two years as indentured servants in order to pay their way over to the United States. World War I was beginning and my ancestors wanted to escape the Germans. They came to America for a fresh start, and they found work immediately. My great-great grandmother worked in a knitting factory, and my great-great-grandfather worked as an ice delivery man.

1937

At this time, my great grandmother graduated from college at the College of Charleston. She went to school to become a teacher, and she soon got a job teaching at North Charleston High School.

College of Charleston

1939

Wedding bells are ringing, the year 1939 is when my great-grandmother and my great-grandfather got married. Michael Onufer moved to South Carolina in order to work at a factory which turned pulp into paper. When he came to Charleston, he met my great-grandmother, Bertha Laroche, by being set up on a date, and the rest is history.

1944

My great-grandfather was in World War II, I happened to be able to receive a lot on this topic due to the medal my great-grandfather was honored with after serving in D-day.

Newspaper Article of my Grandfather

Many people were proud of accomplishments for he survived a lot. He happened to begin to write a book before he died, and I found a small clipping of the audio.

Below, I transcribed the first two minutes of the piece of the book.

Change that to some of whom were composed of poles and Czech who were conscripted into the German Army because of the tactics the German’s used with killing the wounded airborne-men. Our troops retaliated and were soon called the butcher’s with the baggy pants by the Germans. Many paratroopers who landed in trees were found to have been shot while still suspended in their harness. One crazy paratrooper falling into a German with his carbine started shooting. The German hollering Conrad Conrad, whereas the boy kept firing into him, firing eight shots before killing the German. D-Day plus 8 or change that to D-Day plus two found our airborne troops to have had fallen asleep. Their family established a corridor nicknamed St. Mary’s. Wiley infantry and armored divisions establishing this corridor off from a speech heads both Utah and Omaha troops. Also, the British speech head had joined our troops at Saint Laurent. For the first 3 days pulling this corridor were nip and tuck. However, the Allies held, and then again, they bobbing up procedure towards its beaches, mainly towns of Colleville that is spelled c o l l e v i l l e. Saint Laurent, Laurent Pointe de la Pierce spelled p o i n t e capital d e l a t e r c e.

1947

My great-grandfather started his own business during the year of 1947. It was a great leap of faith going from a factory worker to an entrepreneur. He was a Ship Chandler and supplied the victory ships the rebuild Europe. He supplied them with food supplies and maintenance supplies, and he started his own business doing the same thing.

1948

The war is over, and it’s time to celebrate. What better to celebrate with than having a child? The baby boom generation was coming into effect, and my grandfather was a part of it. He was born on May 31, 1948 to a happy and loving family.

Michael Onufer

1968

My grandad met the love of his life, Carol Lehew, and they got married. They were a very happy couple and continued living in Charleston their entire lives.

My Grandparents Wedding Photo

1968

This year was filled with happiness but also sorrow. My great-grandfather passed away from a heart attack. He had a very good life and survived more than most people could. He will always be remembered by my family.

1970

My dad was born on October 26, 1970. I feel like pictures speak better than words; he brought so much joy to the world.

My Dad

1983

My great-grandmother died of Cancer in 1983. She was a lovely lady from the stories I have heard, and it is hard to talk about such loss with anyone.

1999

My parents got married in October of 1999. Once again, pictures speak better, they were and are such a happy couple, and they have brought so much light into the world.

My Mom and Dad

2000

I was born on May 8, 2000, and the rest is history.

Pictures of me

As I continue to try to discover more about my Ancestors, I plan to contact my grandfather, Michael Laroche. My family grew up in Charleston, and he still lives near Charleston to this day where he owns his own company. My grandfather is very intelligent, and he knows many stories about his parents and his grandparents. This happens to be why I chose my grandpa to interview, in hope to learn more about my past.

Interview Questions:

  1. Did you ever meet your grandparents?
  2. If so, did he know much about his parent’s immigration or about their past in Slovakia?
  3. What were your grandparents like?
  4. Did they follow any Slovakian traditions or cultural practices once they lived in America?
  5. Did your Grandfather ever talk about what it was like to be the son of an immigrant family?
  6. I know your dad fought in World War II. Did he talk about the war at all?
  7. How did your grandfather move to South Carolina?
  8. How did he meet your grandmother?
  9. How was your childhood being raised?

Thernstrom, Stephan. “Slovak” Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups. Cambridge, MA: Belknap of Harvard U, 1980. N. pg 926–934. Print.

--

--