A Journey to the Cloud Recap: Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Ceyhun Özgün
A Journey to the Clouds
2 min readMay 4, 2017

Recently, I have been using various AWS services and writing about how to use them. Starting with a prototype digital card store application, I have added various functionality using different AWS services in my each post.

The services I have used so far and my blog posts about them are below.

AWS Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)

EC2 can be used for creating compute resources with different capacity for running different workloads. You can view my post about EC2 here.

AWS Elastic Load Balancer (ELB)

When we run multiple EC2 instances, ELB can be used for providing load balancing for our applications. You can view my post about ELB here.

AWS Simple Storage Service (S3)

S3 is a durable and scalable object storage that is ideal for storing build artifacts and uploaded files. You can view my post about S3 here.

AWS DynamoDB

If you are looking for a scalable persistence service to store application entities with a key/value model, DynamoDB is a good fit. You can view my post about DynamoDB here.

AWS Simple Queue Service (SQS)

SQS can be used for decoupling application components and providing integration between divers systems. You can view my post about SQS here.

AWS Simple Email Service (SES)

Applications that use email integration can benefit from SES with its easy API. You can view my post about SES here.

AWS ElastiCache

ElastiCache is managed scalable in-memory data and cache store that can be used for various caching needs and also for user session storage. You can view my post about using Redis with ElastiCache here.

Summary

In this cloud age, we should consider using different cloud services for our applications and AWS is definitely a good candidate. But when doing this, we shouldn’t forget to consider vendor lock-in and try to use different cloud providers, where possible.

I will continue using AWS services and blogging about them.

--

--