Take a hike!

Take a hike, Sir!

While I worked for at Gravity Entertainment, my boss ensured that we worked on our terms. And with people who we wanted to work with. We did not chase new business and whatever little business we had, we put in a lot of effort on it and made sure that we did good work on it.

Everyone else, we asked them to take a hike.

Especially the ones we did not like. The ones we liked, we would bend over backwards for them. And then if required, pull our pants down. With or without a condom. And no, I am not ashamed about talking about it. I was groomed at Gravity to do anything for you, that is within my value system, if I liked you. And it’s a wonderful wonderful lesson.

It’s been some time that I have left Gravity and the lesson (and other lessons) continues to come in handy. Day in and day out I see people talking about how they cant do things because that’s not their department, not their JD, not their day etc etc. I, on the other hand, thanks only to Gravity, cant think of an excuse. Rather than waiting for things and twaddling thumbs, I’d rather do it. Even if I dont know how to. Something is always better than nothing. If something has to be done, it has to be done. At whatever cost. At Gravity, all we had, to help us get further, was the reputation. Of a team that gets thing done.

I think it also correlates to that difference between a VP and a Janitor that Steve Jobs apparently talked about. At Gravity, I was the janitor. And the VP. As and when required. But, you had to be nice to me. If you weren’t nice to me, for whatever reasons, you sir, could take a hike for all I cared. Even if you paid a bomb to me or my boss or the organization. In fact he would ask you to take a hike. Try it.

Of course we weren’t the best event management agency and individually, we definitely weren’t super great or super talented. Ok, other people on my team could be. I wasn’t. But we were full of pride. And we loved what we did. And we fed our egos all the time. Why wouldn’t we? The clients loved us and we loved them back. Of course we got into heated discussions all the time. In fact I was famous for my bursts of anger. My “disagreements” with the head of marketing of a large client were so often and so loud that they could hear the bickering all the way at the ISS. But since I loved him and he treated me with respect, we would end the day laughing about what happened. And we would then get shit done. Even if it meant putting everything else on the back-burner.

Guess this is one of those things that makes made Gravity a special place to work (at). It was awesome to do work we chose. It made everyone happy — clients, vendors, team and most importantly self. In fact now that I think of it, henceforth, I want to work only with people that I like. Everyone else can take a hike. Even if you give me all the money I want, if I don’t like you, I am going to refuse. Life’s too short to not say no. I’ve learned it the hard way. And I am not going to not use the power of no.

The thing is, I’d rather be happy than sore. I am a “consultant” and as a result I have to work for others. And to be honest, I like working. When I am busy, when I am working, it keeps me happy and sane and motivated. I like to learn new things and I believe only way to continue to learn is to continue to work. And like any (E/)INTF(/J), I tend to get emotional about what I do. I get attached emotionally. To non-living things like work.

So, I think it’s better to invest emotions and time with people I like. People that are good. People that you make you happy. People that you want to make happy. And no, you cant make everyone happy. The ones you can’t, you know what you do with them? Hint: The H word.

So as an independent, as I try and find work for myself, I am looking at working with good people. That I like. And that respect me. Please know that I am not the best and I am not the worst. But I will put in as much hard work as the best. Probably more. Because I know I am not the best. And I will ensure that I deliver to the best of my ability. I don’t have a famous father’s reputation to cash on, I don’t have any rich uncles left to die and I don’t have blessings of a lone heiress. All I have is my reputation. That I can earn if I continue to do good work. And I don’t want to waste time or opportunity on people who cant help me get happier.

To end this rant, here’s a small test to figure out if I’d like to work with you. If you are pushy, if you are not meticulous, if you don’t believe in win-win, if you think I am cheap labor, if you think short-term, you sir, may please take a hike.

On the other hand, if you are different, may I please get an opportunity to meet up with you? I promise to not waste you time.

Thank you!

P.S.: outburst prompted by a “client” who is on the verge of getting asked to take a hike.

--

--