Can I Avoid Mistakes by not Writing?

And whether my Facebook history makes me a bad person.

Bronté Bettencourt
A Life of Words

--

Photo by Jan Szwagrzyk on Unsplash

For a while now, I’ve considered deleting my Facebook account. The thought plagues me before bed. Instead of sleep, I’m hit with a barrage of embarrassing actions I made back in high school. Back then I wore Tripp pants and fishnet shirts and made controversial statements without knowing the full weight of my words while also integrating anime convention lingo in my day-to-day speak. I’m thankful that those days are long buried in the past, available only via the deep recesses of my mind —

Except, not really, because I’ve had my Facebook account for over a decade.

I like seeing snapshots of who I was back then, how much I have grown, how my thoughts have changed over time, and the people who came and went through my statuses. However, the people I’ve befriended since that chapter of my life can also see all of my embarrassing missteps.

I have nearly 500 friends that I’ve made throughout high school, undergrad, jobs, and grad school. And when I become a published author, I’ll befriend more people on a personal and professional level. But what if they go through the thirteen years I’ve been on Facebook and equate those outdated thoughts to me being an awful person?

--

--

Bronté Bettencourt
A Life of Words

Graduated with an MFA in Writing Children and Young Adult Literature. Full-time D&D and YouTube connoisseur. I also love coffee ~ https://ko-fi.com/elliebronte