Just Write The Damn Script Already

10 Tips on Getting Started in Screenwriting

Maalik Evans
A Life of Words
9 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

“Just write it,” is a common phrase I hear from my talent manager. Now, no one is saying it’s going to be an easy process, but there is validity in this statement.

  1. First thing’s first, write it down.

That idea you have for a screenplay, novel, blog, article or whatever it is. Simply write it down — on a sheet of paper, on your computer, on your phone, on Final Draft, or wherever you have access to jot something down.

When an idea comes into your head, capitalize on it because it may not stick around for long. It could be the most outlandish idea or not make much sense at all, but for the love of God write it down. You never know where it could lead you to. Hell, J.K Rowling began writing Harry Potter on some napkins and we all know how successful our good sis is.

Anytime I’m conceiving a script and a new idea pops into my head for a particular scene, or character, or for the overall storyline, I immediately jot it down. I could be in the middle of a conversation and I’ll tell whoever I’m talking to, “Hold up, I just got an idea. Sorry, one sec.” I also do this for any Medium article ideas I have —I jot it down on the Notes section of my phone.

It could be late at night or you could be in the shower, but as soon as that idea appears in your brain, WRITE IT DOWN ASAP. I’ve made the mistake of not doing this in the past and it’s no fun to lose a great idea. Sometimes it’ll find its way back to you, sometimes it won’t.

2. Revise at the end.

A lot of times when I’m writing, the left side of my brain and the right side of my brain get into an epic duel over creativity and analysis of what I’ve written.

It’s highly important to let the words just flow right out of you like a river. Don’t get me wrong, formatting and revising is significant to the writing process. However, in my experience, if you spend too much time on trying to revise things before executing your idea as the creative flow is happening, it can stifle what you’re striving to write and can eventually lead to writer’s block.

If you can manage to do both at the same time, great! But, don’t beat yourself up about it if you can’t. Have typos, have grammatical errors, let things not make sense when the creative magic is happening. You can always go back to revise and fix it. But you can’t always get an idea back.

Write it. Take a break from it. Come back to it and revise it. Then move on from it.

3. Invest in yourself.

“I personally love Final Draft and it is well worth the investment, it’s also the industry standard.”

Sign up for screenwriting classes or workshops. There’s plenty of them and due to the current events, there are many online classes you can take advantage of. If you can’t afford it right now, don’t let that stop you from beginning the writing process.

When I first started out writing screenplays, I used Celtx. It’s a free screenwriting software that you can utilize if you’re unsure of investing in Final Draft or if you don’t have the money to purchase it yet. There’s also other free options such as, WriterDuet and Trelby. I personally love Final Draft and it is well worth the investment, it’s also the industry standard. So if you’re serious about being a screenwriter, save up and buy it. It’s around $200, but it’ll be worth it, trust me.

Funny story actually, a little over a year ago my talent manager sent one of my scripts to an indie production company in Hollywood. They responded well to it and wanted to develop it further with me. So I said, “Hell yeah!” After several drafts, I eventually told them I used Amazon Storywriter (No longer exists as of June 30th, 2019) to write this particular script and they were shocked. But, they wanted me to get Final Draft so I could make revisions and be able to show the revisions I made via *Revisions Mode*. Btw, it’s an extremely useful tool during the revisions process when creating a script. So I got it and the rest is history.

4. Let go of the Impostor Syndrome.

You are not an impostor. I repeat, YOU ARE NOT AN IMPOSTOR. This is your life, these are your dreams — own it.

Self-doubt is natural, but you have the right to write a script or whatever it is you want to write, just like anyone else. It’s okay to recognize these feelings, once you’ve felt them, let them go because they do not serve you.

I used to feel like screenwriting was this esoteric career I could never attain, more so than acting, believe it or not. Guess what? I do both, so now what. A good actor friend of mines, Atika Greene helped me realize this several years ago when we lived in New York City. If it wasn’t for her giving me the confidence boost and helping me realize I’m not an “impostor”, I honestly don’t know if I would’ve followed through with a career in screenwriting.

Kevin Williamson wasn’t always “Kevin Williamson”. Issa Rae wasn’t always “Issa Rae”. Shonda Rhimes wasn’t always “Shonda Rhimes” and George Lucas wasn’t always “George Lucas”. But they didn’t let self-doubt and fear consume them.

Think about it, there are so many creatives who built their empires from scratch. Issa Rae is the most notable in the Black community for me and look at her now. She went from having a web series on Youtube, to now having a successful TV series on HBO, to owing businesses and acting in films. I’m sure at one point even she felt like an impostor, somewhere along the line she had to let that mentality go.

Self-doubt, anxiety and negative thoughts will always be there, it’s a part of life. Just remember to drown out the noise. This applies to anything, not just screenwriting.

P.S. Don’t compare yourself to these people, comparison is the thief of joy. You are you, they are them and I am me.

“I am my own mountain standing in my own sun.” — Shonda Rhimes

5. Write what you know.

Aside from writing any idea that pops into your head, write things you know about and write what you want to see in films, and on TV. Whether it’s about the CIA, serial killers, superheroes, outer space, or your own life — explore it. Outline the idea. Then write the script. Or just write the script, but most industry people recommend outlining it first.

Coming-of-age, dark dramas and horror are my forte. Yours might be comedy, romance or action. That’s thrill of writing, you can explore whatever you like. I will say it’s important to be well versed in one genre.

The second script I wrote is a horror film inspired by a childhood trauma. That’s right, I turned my trauma into art. I pitched my script to several talent reps in Hollywood, got rejected by all of them except for one. All it takes is one.

My current manager read it, loved it, reached out and I signed with him shortly after. And that idea had been in my head since I was 13 years old, it was a short story collection at first and then when I was on the verge of turning 22, I penned it as a horror film. As of recently, I completed the sequel to it.

“…I turned my trauma into art.”

My point is if you truly believe in your idea and have a vision, see it through to fruition. Like I said before, you never know where it could lead you.

6. Inspiration will not always come, write anyway.

I once waited nearly 6 months for inspiration and it never showed up. So believe me when I tell you this, if you wait on the account of inspiration to write— you’ll find yourself out of a career.

Especially when you’re hired to write about something on spec or have a writing assignment in the writers’ room. Once money is involved, you have a job to do. Studios, production companies and networks do not care if you’re inspired or not.

You have to force yourself to write. Once you get into the groove though, oh! It’s heavenly! So set realistic goals for yourself and keep healthy writing habits. Get up in the morning and write for an hour, then as the week progresses extend it to two hours, and as more time passes increase it. Do what works for you, not for me.

I finally got into a weekly writing schedule, consisting of 6–8 hours per day since COVID-19 happened. I’m still human though, so I don’t always follow this rule, but I definitely stay consistent with it so I don’t fall back into old habits. Start this habit now so that when you are lucky enough to be hired, you’ll be ready.

Inspiration is for dreamers, not doers. Inspiration is great, but don’t wait for it. Start now. Heck, I almost didn’t write this article. Yet, here we are.

“Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.”

7. Read! Read! Read!

Study the scripts you love and break them down. I have a shit ton of scripts on my computer that I like to sit down, read and examine — Scream, (500) Days of Summer, 13 Reasons Why, Queen Sugar, Narcos, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Hereditary, Insecure, How To Get Away with Murder, Moonlight, I Know What You Did Last Summer, Scandal, Killing Eve, Vida, Sharp Objects, Donnie Darko etc.

Look! You now have options and they’re all readily accessible at your fingertips. Gotta love the internet, right.

I recommend buying Save The Cat! by Blake Snyder. It’s one of the best books out there on understanding the craft of screenwriting. Writing Screenplays That Sell by Michael Hauge is another fantastic book on the craft. The Anatomy of Story by John Truby is on my to-read-list.

Even if you’re trying to break the mold or bend the rules — Hollywood has a formula for successful scripts and it would behoove you to understand it.

8. Register your script.

Now before you put it out into the world — register your script with the Writers Guild of America or the U.S. Copyright Office. I typically do both. $20 for the WGA and $45 for the U.S. Copyright Office.

Always take precautions and protect yourself. Your ideas have value and merit, treat it as such.

9. Establish your portfolio.

Write an original speculative screenplay to showcase your ability to write. Then, write a TV speculative screenplay as a sample from a current TV series — this will prove you can write in the voice of that particular show and can help get you into a writers’ room.

Both are great ways to get you noticed and/or repped.

10. The first draft will suck — get feedback.

The first draft always sucks. There’s no way around this. It just will. But, that’s okay because guess what? You did it, so celebrate yourself!

Now send it to a trusted industry professional and ask them if they could take the time out of their day to give you notes. Only do this if you have a rapport with them. Otherwise, put it up on the The Black List and utilize it to your advantage to make your script(s) better.

Rewrite. Rewrite and rewrite more!

Remember, there will never be such a thing as a perfect script. This is a subjective industry, so take the things people say with a grain of salt. Unless it’s constructive criticism and even then, take it lightly, not personally. As I’m writing this to you, I’m reminding myself of this.

Enjoy the journey.

I hope these tips help you in your screenwriting endeavors, as they’ve helped me. I am no master at this and I’m not perfect, but I still strive to learn and be excellent in this field.

--

--

Maalik Evans
A Life of Words

I write about the industry, culture, creativity, personal essays, film & TV reviews. My work has also been featured on TheGrio & Blavity. www.maalikevans.com