The Infamous Apple Makes a Scene

Minoo Jan
A Little Bit of Magical Realism
2 min readDec 6, 2017

Eve: You don’t love me anymore.

Adam: Nonsense.

Eve: I know.

Adam: How?

Eve: You never bought me apples.

Adam: Never?!

Eve: When I asked you to.

Adam: Impossible, I’d never do that.

Eve: You forgot.

Adam: So, I forgot one time to buy apples for you.

Eve: The one time I didn’t write it on the list.

Adam: Why are you like this? Making everything a disaster.

Eve: I simply say, when you buy all the things necessary on the grocery list and forget to buy one thing I like and want at that moment, It means I’m not on your mind or you don’t care anymore.

Adam: I care.

Eve: Prove it.

Adam: You’re such a child.

Eve: I want proof. As simple as an apple.

Adam: And I want cherries, but life isn’t always cherries and apples.

Eve: It is for me. I can’t live without apples.

Adam: No one had ever died of not having apples.

Eve: How do you know? Maybe they did.

Adam: It’s obvious you never knew hunger. If you’re hungry, you take anything.

Eve: That’s survival. I want to live. I deserve apples and cherries. You deserve apples and cherries. Everybody should have them once in their lifetime.

Adam: But they can’t.

Eve: Why?

Adam: Because life is not fair.

poetry

--

--

Minoo Jan
A Little Bit of Magical Realism

Telling stories, one monologue, one scene at a time.Based in Toronto. Playwright and freelance writer.