How I Solved my Ethical Dilemma!

Saniya Bedi
A Little Bit of Me
Published in
7 min readAug 14, 2017
Image Source- Google

“The difference between moral dilemmas and ethical ones, philosophers say, is that in moral issues the choice is between right and wrong. In ethical ones, the choice is between two rights” : Pamela Warrick

In the following article, I have attempted to recognize and understand an ethical dilemma that I faced at work a couple of days back. Though there have been quite a few of them, I feel that I was somehow able to deal with those well enough. What makes the following ethical dilemma interesting is the fact that during these six months at my agency, I have never seen myself being so driven to help the client and have not been so angry too, at the agency for not thinking the way I was. I also feel that this was a particular dilemma where my values were somehow interfering a lot in the counseling session.

The ethical dilemma that I faced was whether a case of elderly abuse should be reported to the police or not.

The case was of a 65 year old man, recently retired from a government job. His wife passed away a few years ago. He has four sons, two of them are married and two daughters, both are studying in school. 15 years ago, due to some misunderstanding, the client had disowned his elder son and had been staying with the rest of the family. According to the client, soon after his retirement, the younger son started emotionally blackmailing the client to sign the property papers in his name. The client did so too, to avoid any further fights at home. After this, the younger son started pressurizing the client to get the retirement money from his office as soon as possible. The son would make sure that every day the client would go to the office to get this job done. Seeing the client at the office every day, he was told that the papers are being processed, but would take a couple of months. The moment the son got to know this, he verbally and physically abused the client and told him to leave the house. The other family members were warned by the son to not speak to him or else they would also be asked to leave. The client now stays at a friend’s place.

The crux of the dilemma was whether the abuse should be reported to the police or not. The client had reported a case of abuse, i.e. abandonment by his younger son, inappropriate use of property and assets as well as psychological, physical and verbal abuse. Only one thought was coming to my mind: the son should be punished, however I was not sure since I was worried about the client’s security too. What if the son comes to know about his complaint and harasses him even further?

My Values: Though the profession does not demand one to be value neutral but this particular case constricted my ability to think beyond the fact that a parent had been treated badly by his own son. It was difficult for me to think rationally, probably because my value of respecting one’s parents was clearly influencing my understanding of the case. For me, parents are at a pedestal and one cannot thank them enough for doing all that they have done to make their children happy. For me to even consider the son’s perspective seemed impossible.

Cultural influence: Being in a collectivist society, where not only one’s parents but also elderly, in general are given so much of importance and respect, it is hard to believe how a child can do this to his/ her own parent. I have witnessed a few cases of parental abandonment and ill treatment personally, I have read a number of articles stating the growing numbers of elderly in the old age homes too. However, I felt as if I was taking an absolutist stand when it came to giving respect to this client by his son.

Client’s insight: What I could gauge from the client’s narrative was that he was in a state of shock and despair. He was continuously crying while narrating the same. My understanding was that the very fact that the client came to report the case is a strong indicator that he considered the situation out of his hands and wanted the involvement of an external agency.

My insight: I felt that for the client it was a situation where he was losing irrespective. If he would not report it, he would continue to feel stressed and sad. On the other hand, if he reports, the client’s security was endangered.

Also, when one is working in an agency where multiple professionals work as a team, at the primary level, they may not necessarily see the need for therapy. They tend to have a very focused approach to the client’s problem and may not see the problem as a problem beyond taking care of the structural needs; in this case, taking care of the client’s residence and security. This was saddening for me.

“The resolution of ethical dilemmas is not guaranteed to be simple!” — IACP Code of Ethics & Practice

I had a look at two ethical codes in this regard:

  1. Take all reasonable steps to ensure that the client suffers neither physical nor psychological harm during the practitioner/client relationship. (IACP Code of Ethics and Practice / IACP Counsellor / Therapists)
  2. Counselors are responsible for working in ways that respect and promote the client’s ability to make decisions in the light of his/her beliefs, values and context. (Australian counseling association’s ethical code: client autonomy)

Steps taken for ethical decision making:

An essential element of understanding and finding a solution to an ethical dilemma is discussing one’s values and belief system with an associate or supervisor. (Corey and Callanan, 2007). I did the same. I spoke to my work supervisor. She was an excellent support. She made me understand how I should try to see the case from a non judgmental lens. She also motivated me to reflect on this dilemma and helped me find a solution too.

Frame and Williams in 2005 developed a model of ethical decision making from a multicultural perspective in which the cultural differences are recognized yet common principles such as altruism, responsibility and justice are taken into consideration. This model actually helped me understand how I completely forgot to consider the cultural factors involved. I then realized that the cultural background that the client comes from may not appreciate his reporting the case to police. He may have to face some disapproval from his family members who may consider this as an insult to the family honor.

Considering all the possible aspects to the problem, I came up with three options:

  1. Reporting the case to the police so that they could take immediate action against the son. The consequence could be worse treatment/ potential attack on the client by his son till the time matters resolve. Although the police may support the client, but it may take a lot of time till justice is actually given. Till then the client’s security may not be guaranteed. Also, asking for police security can again take a lot of time.
  2. Taking the usual course, i.e. sending a letter to the son and waiting for him to come to the agency. This would not have guaranteed the time duration till the client gets relief.
  3. Making a call from the agency and asking the client’s son to visit the agency that day itself. This seems to me the best option. I say so because even if the client’s son may be annoyed on his arrival to the agency, through counseling, his side of the story can be understood and the client and his son maybe motivated to work out a solution for themselves.

Holy A. Stadler, 1986 suggested that while choosing one option from the various possible alternatives, it is important to consider three important criteria: universality, publicity and justice. After considering these points, I felt that the third option would be the best. This is because I feel that even if the client’s son may be angry on arrival to the agency, atleast the counselor may be able to discover the other side of the story. This would also give a chance to the client and his family to work out their differences (under supervision). Also, follow up family counseling sessions/ individual sessions may be proposed if they would be willing for the same.

I feel good about the decision. I have realized that even though the profession does not expect us to be value neutral, it is important to strive for achieving a degree of competence where I would be able to recognize where my values are interfering and making me look at a case through a judgmental lens. My understanding regarding this issue resonates with Walden’s idea that while making an ethical decision; we tend to do it ‘for’ the client rather than ‘with’ the client.

I understood how difficult this process can be. Ethical decision making to me meant choosing between the best options which is very difficult. This is because each option has its pros and cons, making the decision making procedure extremely complex! I hope to come across the least number of cases in practice where ethical decision making would be required: a utopian thought indeed!

--

--

Saniya Bedi
A Little Bit of Me

I am a counselling psychologist. Here on medium to share my experiences and views on mental health! Happy Reading!