A Retrospective: September 2018

My past month in online writing

Jo Stichbury
A Little Science
3 min readSep 28, 2018

--

I’ve written a number of pieces this month to regain some writing momentum after taking a break from publishing online over the summer, when I instead spent my time editing a book (more of which shortly).

September started with some interesting research on sleeping sickness inspired by an article in The Economist.

I also looked at cryptocurrencies in terms of the energy usage.

The “The Book” went live, and I wrote a couple of pieces about it.

Each month, I try to write something about current events such as news from conferences or breaking stories in the news. This month, I shared some videos and insights from the Arm Research Summit in Cambridge.

I wrote up a common challenge for traditional software engineering teams as they take on AI.

Towards the end of the month, I wrote something that may be helpful for teams taking on projects in AI that are new to them. It’s a guide to finding learning materials online for free.

The highlight of my month was researching and writing about volunteer computing.

In finding out about BOINC, I looked into supercomputers, and was inspired to write a short piece on the world’s most prestigious HPC hardware.

Finally, I wrote another piece on using your computer’s idle time, but this time, rather than focussing on how to use it as a volunteer, I looked at employing it to make a passive income.

Next month, I have a similar number of articles to put together, as well as some work for clients on subjects as diverse as convolutional neural networks and graph databases. I’m sure to be looking for some new topics to research and write about, so please hit me up in the comments below with any ideas!

I’m a freelance writer, sometimes available for hire. I write about AI, data science, graph databases, and computer hardware. I also cover topics that I am personally experienced in, though not an expert, such as recruitment & the future of work, electric vehicles, and clean transport technologies. Sometimes I get all meta, and write about writing.

--

--

Jo Stichbury
A Little Science

Technical content creator writing about data science and software. Old-school Symbian C++ developer, now accidental cat herder and goose chaser.