Break Your Own Heart and Mend It Too

Dealing with breakups in your 20s

Khushi Anand
Pragmatic Wisdom

--

A girl sitting on a rock looking over the sun rise over the hills
Photo by Avi Richards on Unsplash

Sometimes, life does not turn out the way we want it to be.

Sometimes, the universe knows what’s best for us before we do.

Last month this time, I was head over heels for my partner. We’d been together for four years and couldn’t imagine life without each other. As you can imagine, we’re no longer together.

Three weeks ago, we broke up.

A solo trip to South India confirmed what I’d been doubting for a while. Maybe, I need to be single. Maybe, for once in my life, I need to take care of myself.

We started dating when we were very young, eighteen to be exact. It was right after we graduated from high school, during the first COVID lockdown.

We got each other through many ups and downs. My father’s death, his parents’ problems, financial issues, countless emotional breakdowns and the lowest of the lowest phases. We also celebrated eight birthdays together, four anniversaries, Diwali, Christmas and Holi every year. We were there through it all.

Life kept moving, we stood still. Hand in hand.

It was good and it was bad. It was beautiful and it was ugly.

--

--

Khushi Anand
Pragmatic Wisdom

Sharing everything I learn on my personal growth journey. Come along for some self-improvement, life lessons, spirituality and personal growth.