Dishonesty Pays Off, But Is It Worth the Price?

The time I regretted cheating at the local flea market

Tristan Tell
Pragmatic Wisdom

--

Guy looking at camera angry
Tima Miroshnichenko via Pexels

“I can’t do it,” she said.

My girlfriend’s expression mirrored the guilt that was sweeping over me.

“We tried to scam her, and she gave us a present!”

I am a little ashamed to share this, but I’m all for transparency. So please, don’t judge too harshly!

We had visited a local flea market. My girlfriend bought a package of ten balls of wool.

Without the seller, an elderly lady, noticing, she had sneaked an eleventh ball into the package.

My girlfriend also wanted to buy a pretty bowl there but decided against it. Grateful for the big purchase we’d made, the seller gave us the bowl for free.

Other couples might have celebrated.

Not only did we trick the old lady into getting the eleventh ball of wool for free, but she was also naive enough to give us the bowl as well!

Dishonesty would’ve paid off big time!

Why I’d be a terrible fraudster

We didn’t celebrate. We were ashamed.

Where did the sudden bad conscience come from?

--

--