So Many Things to Do, So Little Time

Nikki Rhetoric
Pragmatic Wisdom
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2024

The problem with us is that we want to do it all.

An image of a girl lying on an unorganized bed and scrolling on her phone
Just doom scrolling on the phone, all day long. Image created by Freepik

We want to succeed in our careers.

We want to build a side hustle.

We want to learn that musical instrument, get good at chess, clean our room, and do that skincare routine. Woooof!! and whatnot.

Whenever I start a task, I feel guilty that I am not doing the other.

Whenever I complete a task, I regret not taking it up sooner.

I constantly juggle things in my mind about what to do next, while I am just lying on the bed or scrolling through my phone.

Constant guilt was getting to me.

Getting on track…

I decided that it was okay if I didn’t do it all because I wasn’t doing anything in the first place.

I had set high expectations of myself which only led to me living my ideal life in my head hoping that ONE DAY I would achieve it.

But, it never came.

Years passed… Trust me, when I say years passed… Years have passed.

NOW, I have faced reality.

I have accepted I am not that great after all if I was only procrastinating all along.

I have decided to stick to one goal at a time.

I would only think of something else once that is achieved.

For now, on the professional front, I will complete the course I wanted to do for a long time. and continue writing on medium.

I think that’s good enough. What is yours?

--

--