MORE BETTER HEALTH

Start Talking About Your Mental Health

All health begins with good mental health, and good mental health begins with a conversation

Sanjay Singhal
Pragmatic Wisdom
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2024

--

Created in Midjourney

Sanjay Says on Youtube |Apple Podcast | Spotify | Instagram

A friend sent me a link to a public service message about mental health, it encourages us to check in on those closest to us, to ask how they’re doing.

What I noticed when watching the video is that the man’s friends did ask him how he was doing. But he chose not to be vulnerable, he chose not to confide. It was the wrong time, it was the wrong place, men don’t cry, all that bullshit.

I believe that we all care about the mental health of our friends. I believe that given some sort of sign, we’ll extend a helping hand, and give a comforting hug. The problem is that all too often, we don’t get that sign, and before we know it, that friend can be gone.

Picture of a man attending a soccer match with a friend, link to Instagram video
Click link here to watch video on Instagram

I’ve suffered from debilitating periods of depression in my life. I always appreciated check-in calls from my closest friends, but I often didn’t want to talk about my problems. I didn’t want to…

--

--

Sanjay Singhal
Pragmatic Wisdom

I write about how to manage your career and life by telling stories about how I've botched my own career and life.