Backhanded Compliments

When a Compliment Feels Like an Insult

What do you do?

Sandra Pawula
Pragmatic Wisdom
Published in
5 min readApr 15, 2024

--

Photo by Sam Lion on Pexels

I’ve lost 18 pounds on a low-carb diet!

Recently, when choosing a dress for a small neighborhood gathering, I selected a shapely one. Due to the extra pounds I’d packed on, I hadn’t worn it for a few years.

I prefer loose-fitting clothing for comfort, even when I’m thin. But clearly, a tiny bit of ego figured into my dress choice that afternoon.

I believe people should be accepted, whatever their size, and the world would be better without the stigma attached to obesity.

But “thin is better” conditioning still lurks in the back alleys of my mind. I find it hard to accept myself when I have excess pounds.

At the get-together, several people exclaimed, “You look great!”

One woman repeated the compliment throughout the evening. She seemed astonished, as though I had accomplished a miracle.

The rave reviews pleased my ego. But I didn’t run out to buy a new set of slinky clothes the next day. Thank you very much, but I’ll stay with my loose-fitting, comfortable choices.

The following morning, when I still had sleep in my eyes, I received a text from my incredibly amazed neighbor:

--

--

Sandra Pawula
Pragmatic Wisdom

Essays to calm your mind, ease your heart and access your inner wisdom. I love Hawaii, mindfulness, and living with ease. https://sandrapawula.substack.com/