Delhi — A City that functions in chaos!

David Farelo
A Lonely South African
3 min readJan 27, 2017

Waking up at 6am to an empty apartment (Rob and Zak left for the airport at 3:30am) was a little overwelhming but it was game on and I was ready to begin my backpacking journey! My flight to Delhi was 2hrs and I landed in Delhi around 12pm where I decided, again, to use uber as my transport to my hostel which was located on the boarder of Old Delhi so I could have quick and easy access to the more historical parts of Delhi. I stayed in a 4 bedroom hostel called Stops Hostel which wasn’t the cleanest but the staff were friendlay and the hostel was quiet which balanced it out. I dropped my bags off, had a shower and set off on my own to walk the streets of Old Delhi.

Nothing can prepare you for a walk through these old streets, especially when coming from South Africa where we are so spoilt with all the land and space that we are so accustomed to. This was a first in a life time experience of just pure chaos and thousands of people trading, shopping, walking, scootering you name it! After some amazingly tasty spicy street food in Chandi Chowk, which its well known for, I decided to head back to the hostel to meet and socialize with some other travelers .

The next morning a bunch of us decided to do a tuk tuk tour or known as rickshaw in India. We got to see a number of interesting monuments, forts, temples, the presidents palace which was consisted of 330 rooms and only he lives there 😳 my favorite part was the visit to the Bangla Sahib Gurudwara temple which is one of the most prominent Sikh Guru where thousands visit daily. Here anyone is welcome to free shelter and food. I have never seen such massive pots of food cooking on open flames before!

That night we decided to head to Delhi for a pub crawl which turned out to be a pretty mellow night and got back at 12am ready for an early wake upto catch my flight to Dehradun.

All in all I enjoyed Delhi but the chaos was a little too much for me so I don’t think I will be going back in a hurry.

--

--

David Farelo
A Lonely South African

Previously an analyst for a Hedge Fund in South Africa 🇿🇦 I resigned & decided to take time off to travel in 2017 ✈️🏝🏔🌅