A long Covid, or Over the Wall — Friday 2nd April 2020

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall
3 min readApr 2, 2022

It’s just gone 8 pm on Friday evening. I’ve just put an episode of the Sopranos on after watching The Many Saints of Newark which I enjoyed.

I’m beginning to feel recovered from my recent dealings with Covid. I have a lingering cough, but that aside I’m better.

And, I can taste and smell again. Bingo.

It’s Anna’s birthday today. She’s out for lunch with her mate, Julie.

If I get a clear Covid test on Sunday there’s a chance I might make it to Harvard for lunch myself next week. I won’t count my chickens just yet.

I’m excited for a quiet weekend. I’m going to do some chores tomorrow and assuming I’m Covid clear by Sunday, I’ll go to Liverpool on Sunday to visit my new office.

I’m going to do some Spanish lessons tonight. Might read, too.

Below is a photo I took of Woody in the window yesterday, and below that is an entry from my diary written this time last year.

Friday 2nd April 2021

I woke up at 8 am this morning after a 15-hour stint in bed, during which I sweated heavily, dreamt I was in a sleep experiment and some of the sleep researchers were trying to make me sleep forever, and at various times attempted to get out of bed only to get back under the covers as soon as my right foot touched the floor. My body ached, my head hurt and I felt fuzzy and out of sorts. And I was.

I knew I was in for a rough night when, after getting back to the house from a four-hour meeting, I took off my shoes and then hysterically laughed for five minutes because my feet felt nice to be out of the shoes and at the prospect of getting into bed. I repeated this when I did finally get into bed at 5 pm and the aching of my thigh muscles stopped feeling as achy.

At 8 am this morning I felt a million times better than I had for the past 18 or so hours.

Today is Good Friday and it has been good. I watched Falcon and Winter Soldier. I chatted with Anna and spent the evening with Max. I did some of the things I’d intended to do last night. And, now it’s just gone 10 pm and I’m sitting watching five more minutes of The Last Samurai and finishing the last bit of a glass of rum and Coke before I head to bed.

Tomorrow it’s the weekend and I’ve already had a day off. And there are still three days of being off to go as Monday is a holiday too.

Not bad, that.

Very good, even.

This is part of a series of diary entries I wrote from April 2020 to April 2021. I’m posting them a year out from when I first wrote them. You can read the other ones I’ve posted here

--

--

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall

Dad. Wordscape, Kindred LCR, Ethos Magazine, The City Tribune, Homebaked CLT, School for Social Entrepreneurs.