A long Covid, or Over the Wall — Sunday 28th March 2021

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall
3 min readMar 28, 2022

I have Covid again.

I felt tired and a bit out of sorts on Friday and my test on Saturday morning confirmed it.

It was almost two years ago that I had Covid the first time around. That was the original strain of Covid and early on in the Pandemic and this time its Omicron and it is a weird one. Sneezing, coughing, body aches and a slightly foggy lens. Unpleasant.

I had a great week planned next week. Anna was arriving on Tuesday morning and I was going to help the team move office. On Saturday we had planned to get the new office set for work and have some drinks.

And, for the first time, Anna and I would have spent our Birthdays together.

As it is, I’ll work from home and rest up as best I can. I’m hopeful that in a few days I’ll be testing negative again. I’ll have a birthday in quarentine, Facetine with Anna on hers, and I’ll be glad to see my folks on my Birthday, assuming that I get to, through the window. I may even wear a party hat (I definitely won’t wear a party hat.)

In more positive news, Max tested negative today and assuming he does tomorrow he’ll be back in school.

It’s almost 10:45 here now. Woody is up in his window seat and Nina is across the living room in her cat bed.

It is time to head upstairs.

Below is a picture I took of Woody and Nina earlier today, and below that is an entry from my diary written this time last year.

Sunday 28th March 2021

Max wet the bed on Saturday morning and it threw my day out yesterday. A piss stained mattress, towels to wash and no mattress cleaner.

It really did throw my day out and I couldn’t really get it together afterwards. I only half slept from discovering the wet bed at about 3 am till we got up at 8 am. I spent the rest of the day being mildly stressed and the stain on the bed, at having to wash towels and booking a Kittys Laundrette collection. And so I spent the day half doing not a lot at all.

I did clean a coffee making machine by Dad bought me a few years back though.

I won the weekend back with some early cooking, plant watering, vacuuming and washing this morning and after two bowls of soup and at almost 7 pm — or 6 pm in yesterdays pre-British Summer time time — I’m feeling ready for a birthday week.

So much so that I’m going to wash the bowl and then eat a tin of pears as I do my journal. And then that’s that and I’m set for the week.

I’m watching Guardians of the Galaxy at the moment and I think that once I’ve finished this I’ll have watched every Marvel Cinematic Universe film this year. That’s quite an achievement isn’t it? Especially as I’ve also read all of the Harry Hole books too.

And so whenever anyone says to be, I haven’t got the time to chase my dreams, I’ll remind them of this and it’ll be inspiring and a good lesson. They’ll probably be significantly uplifted by that.

I’m hoping for sunny days this week. On Friday its the first bank holiday of the year and I’m planning on spending all of Friday morning in bed reading magazines and watching Falcon and Winter Soldier.

And so forwards towards that, then.

This is part of a series of diary entries I wrote from April 2020 to April 2021. I’m posting them a year out from when I first wrote them. You can read the other ones I’ve posted here

--

--

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall

Dad. Wordscape, Kindred LCR, Ethos Magazine, The City Tribune, Homebaked CLT, School for Social Entrepreneurs.