A long Covid, or Over the Wall — Wednesday 7th April 2021

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall
4 min readApr 7, 2022

The good news is that I can breathe a little bit easier today.

I got an inhaler from the doctors to help with my Covid recovery and it’s arrived on a day when I haven't spent the entire day coughing. And, that’s very good.

I am coughing a lot this evening though. Maybe I’m not entirely recovered yet.

It’s almost 9 pm now and I’m sitting in the living room, occasionally coughing and taking lungfuls of steam from a cup of tea, and listening to a podcast about politics. Woody and Nina are looking out on the street from their usual window seat.

I don’t really have a lot more to add than that. What else happened today?

I got some new socks and trousers in the post and my food shopping arrived two hours early. And, I’ve just had a bath. I put Olbas Oil in the water and I can still smell it.

Soon I’ll be breathing easily and have more energy and I’ll use that energy to drag myself to Liverpool and sit in my new office to work.

Soon.

Below is the picture I took of Woody and Nina shortly after I woke up this morning, and below that is an entry from my diary written this time last year.

Nina (left), Woody (right)

Wednesday 7th April 2021

I’ve been in a right weird little funk this week. I can’t figure out if it’s because I don’t have a lot of work on that fully enthuses me, or if I’m just not feeling particularly enthused by anything at all.

Either way, I’m worried about passing through this week without making much of a blip in my small part of the universe and I feel a bit guilty and a bit sad about it.

I’ve been watching a lot of a new TV series, Succession, this week. I think I’ve got an episode left of the second series and it’s been my continual thread of the week. Except for all the parenting and emails and other bits that I do for the week. I’ve had a lot of soup too, I suppose.

In 3 days, if I decide to, I might publish the first of these entries online somewhere. And then I’ll keep publishing them until this time next year when I publish this one a then keep publishing it until I’ve published a year's worth. The 10th April 2020 till the 10th April 2021 — a long Covidy story about me doing things that I’ve done through the year but have mostly forgotten about. Maybe I’ll be shocked and surprised as I read the things again over the next year and will decide to hastily edit the things before I post them. Maybe I’ll even stop posting them at all. Or won’t even start.

And where will I be in a year's time? Maybe I’ll be sitting with Anna, here or there. Maybe I’ll be sat at this table typing something or other on my laptop at 20 minutes past 7, like I am now. Maybe it’ll be a warmer day and I’ll have been out for a wander.

I wonder what work I’ll be doing then? Something similar to the work I’m doing now, no doubt.

Max will be six then and I’ll be a Dad to a six-year-old. I’ll have just turned 38, too.

I hope I’ve had a more productive week leading up to whatever I’m doing then.

I’m expecting a delivery of some new stationery tomorrow. I’ve been buying things in advance of an adventure that I’m going to take at some point — including the letter pads that arrive tomorrow. When I bought them I had visions of using them travelling somewhere. In a cafe or a little pub. I’ll write to David, my Mum or Dad and I’ll tell them about the things I’ve seen and the things I’m planning on doing. I have that vision a lot. I can easily pull it into my mind and let it linger for a while. It’s one of the only coherent visions I have. Probably because I’ve been buying all of the stationery and have spent a lot of time in cafes and pubs over the years. It doesn’t take much brain energy to conjure up the image.

Almost every character on this TV show is a complete bastard and I’m finding it enormously captivating. I’m excited to finish it and see what else is on Now TV to watch this week before my free trial ends.

I’m hoping the cold snap we’re living through ends next week so I feel more inclined to get out every day and walk and move more outside of the house.

But this evening I’m going to sit on the couch in my funk and watch the rest of this.

I may have a nap, too.

This is part of a series of diary entries I wrote from April 2020 to April 2021. I’m posting them a year out from when I first wrote them. You can read the other ones I’ve posted here

--

--

Who is Andrew Beattie?
A long Covid, or Over the Wall

Dad. Wordscape, Kindred LCR, Ethos Magazine, The City Tribune, Homebaked CLT, School for Social Entrepreneurs.