Finding Happiness in Snow Days

Some of my favorite days

Marissa Slack
A Lovely Life
4 min readDec 19, 2022

--

Park bench covered in snow
Photo taken by me. All photos attached to this article are original.

Gratitude Entry #2: Snow Days

Last week, I wrote an article about how much I love fresh snow. I’ve linked it below if you’re interested in reading it.

While “Fresh Snow” and “Snow Days” might seem like the same topic, there is one key difference.

“Fresh Snow” is just that — snow. You go about your day as normal with the added benefit of beautiful snow.

“Snow Days” are like those days when you’re a child and school gets canceled. You get to stay home and do relaxing, cozy things.

Will I stop writing about snow anytime soon? Probably not.

Last Thursday, we experienced a large amount of snowfall where I live, the result of Winter Storm Diaz, the snowstorm that swept across the United States.

Cars were getting stuck in my apartment’s parking lot and on the roads, so I decided to take a snow day.

Snow covered trees on a dead-end road

6:30 AM

I spent time with my partner for about an hour and a half. We watched the snow fall from our bedroom window, talked, and started our morning with hot chocolate. It was the perfect start to the day.

Trees covered in fresh snow

8:00 AM

My two cats wanted to cuddle and I was happy to indulge them. I put on Netflix’s Inside the Mind of a Cat while curling up with them on the couch.

Sometimes I like to put on shows and movies that I know will interest them because they both love to watch T.V.

This documentary was a hit! They kept their eyes glued to the screen until one of them got sleepy and took a nap. I enjoyed the documentary as well, and I learned a few cat facts.

A neighborhood after a snowstorm

10:00 AM

I took a long walk around my neighborhood and took lots of pictures along the way. All of the pictures you see in this article were taken during my walk Thursday.

The neighborhood looked so beautiful, and I could not stop myself from smiling while I walked.

The happiness I felt was so refreshing, because I typically have low, sad moods during the Winter. I recommend getting outside as much as possible for anyone else who has Seasonal Affective Disorder.

A sidewalk winding through a park lined with snow-covered trees

12:00 PM

Medium time! I made coffee in my french press, because snow days call for lots of hot beverages.

While sipping my coffee, I spent time reading, clapping, and interacting with stories from other writers on Medium.

Since I was spending the day doing the things I most enjoyed, I also wrote poetry.

Poetry is my favorite form of writing, but I currently only share my poetry once a week. While I didn’t publish anything that day, I now have lots of poems ready to go!

A frozen lake on a golf course

4:00 PM

I genuinely enjoy cleaning, but sometimes it can fall to the wayside with how busy life can be.

A snow day is the perfect opportunity to catch up on cleaning, so I took an extra long time making everything sparkle. Everything looked amazing and I felt a lot better when I was done!

A park covered in snow with grey skies

8:00 PM

First, I took a hot shower because nothing feels better than a shower after working with chemicals.

Next, I made hot blueberry tea for my partner and me.

Finally, we put on Don’t Worry Darling. Though the plot is a bit hollow and felt similar to The Stepford Wives, I still enjoyed it because it is visually stunning.

Overall, it was a perfect day.

--

--

Marissa Slack
A Lovely Life

Cat Mom | Book Enthusiast | Published by The American Library of Poetry