City of Museums: Invercargill and its Port of Bluff

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller
9 min readJan 31, 2019

--

As per the revision on a-maverick.com of 22 November 2021.

THIS HAS NOW BEEN REPLACED WITH AN UPDATED ‘CITY OF MUSEUMS’ PUBLISHED ON 16 FEBRUARY 2024.‍

I DECIDED to drive to Invercargill, the nearest large city to Queenstown and the southernmost city in New Zealand, known as ‘Invers’ to the locals, to get some bits and pieces for my car. I also wanted to do some shopping for good sandals and get a pedicure for my bunioned feet, as Queenstown is notoriously expensive for that sort of thing.‍

I travelled to Invercargill by driving south from Queenstown on State Highway 6. State Highway 1 continues southward to Bluff. I’ve added the names of some other local attractions that I’ll talk about below. Map data ©2019 Google.

I set off on the 18th of January, which is high summer here. The day was gloriously warm. But the next two days became wrap-up days, as they often are at the south end of New Zealand even in summer.

Up to now, Invercargill has been overshadowed by flashier and more adventuresome tourist destinations like Queenstown, famous for things like bungy-jumping and skiing as well as the undoubted charms of Lake Wakatipu.

But Queenstown seems to be full up, and overpriced. Many backpackers and freedom campers are also being driven out of Queenstown and its restrictive environs.

The fortunes of old-fashioned and off-the-beaten-track places like Invercargill often improve when people get tired of the Queenstowns of this world, and go looking for a more…

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.