Dundee and Perth

From the City of Discovery to the Fair City, both of them with famous castles on the river Tay

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller
12 min readJul 8, 2022

--

AFTER NORTHUMBERLAND, I travelled north to Dundee, nicknamed the City of Discovery, a go-ahead industrial city where the first purpose-built British research vessel, the RRS Discovery, was built at the end of the Victorian era.

Dundee and environs. The Tay is roughly 1.5 km wide between Tayport and Broughty Castle. Map data ©2022 Google. North at top.

It was good to see the relations again: Dundee is where my father comes from, and where my 76-year-old aunty and my cousins still live.

One of my cousins was among the first people to stand for the SNP in the Dundee local body elections, in 1987.

Plus, a member of my family was stressed out with legal proceedings, so I figured I could help out.

I stayed with my aunty and my cousins, including a cousin named David who was born in New Zealand and then reverse-emigrated to Scotland. They live in a beautiful village called Liff, just northwest of Dundee.

Liff Village sign

We went to the Law, which means hill in the local dialect, which has a war memorial on top and a good outlook over Dundee.

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.