One National Park, but many Hiking Trails

Chapter Eight of my book Go Greenland

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller
4 min readOct 1, 2021

--

THERE is only one National Park in Greenland. That sparked my curiosity. It’s called the North-East Greenland National Park and is a really wild place!

While Greenland is 82 per cent icecap, this still leaves huge areas that aren’t covered in ice, even in the far north. Unfortunately, though, Northeast Greenland National Park is only a scientific reserve. The only tourism in this area takes place in and around the vast, branched fiord system of the Scoresbysund or Kangertittivaq, which overlaps the southeastern corner of the national park.

All the same, there are plenty of other places to go hiking in Greenland!

Hiking is my forte. I love hiking and being outdoors in general. I had thought to myself, what better a place to go for hikes than in Greenland!

I had done a fair amount of reading and research into hiking in Greenland. I was a bit disappointed to see that most of it needs to be done in their short and sweet summertime. Otherwise, you risk doing it in freezing winter weather, though some outdoors experts go hiking even then.

The best-known route is the Arctic Circle Trail, a 160 kilometre walk through the glacier and alpine environments inland, between Kangerlussuaq, which is…

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.