Sunday Morning in Sheffield

After the Peak District, I arrive in Sheffield, a city once famous for steel-making and cutlery. The same day, I see barbel fish spawn in Tadcaster.

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller
6 min readJun 18, 2022

--

Sheffield, plus Tadcaster a little over 50 km north-north-east of Sheffield, on the way to York. Tadcaster is identified on the map for this post, as it is too small to show up otherwise. Also indicated at the bottom right are Clumber Park and Sherwood Forest. Background map data ©2022 Google. North at top.

COMING off the Peak District, I rolled on down to Sheffield. Here are a couple more photos of the bleak Peak District terrain on the way. I’m still amazed how there can be such wild country just a few kilometres from the city.

In the Peak District, with a carpark in the background
Sheep grazing by the side of the road in the Peak District, over an ancient-looking bridge

I wouldn’t have stopped in Sheffield, except that I heard it had lots of parks downtown: the Peace Park, the Winter Park, and lots of parks in general. Indeed, it does.

Sheffield’s Peace Park
Another view of Sheffield’s Peace Park

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.