Uluru

A visit to the central Australian outcrop also known as Ayers Rock

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

--

WHILE I was in Alice Springs, I decided that I couldn’t miss a visit to Uluru, or Ayers Rock, even though it was a surprisingly long drive, more than 440 kilometres even when you are starting from the Alice.

Uluru
How far I had to drive from Alice!

I stopped off at the Hoosh Cafe, about an hour out from Alice Springs on the Stuart Highway, where they had camel tours, aboriginal art, and emus as well.

Emus

You carry on down the Stuart Highway, and then turn right onto the Lasseter Highway.

As you can see from that sign, some place names around here are often written with a little line under some consonants. That means that…

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.