Wichita Falls: Aubray, the ‘last’ drive-through liquor store, and the world’s littlest skyscraper

Chapter 8 of A Kiwi on the Amtrak Tracks

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller
6 min readAug 22, 2021

--

I DECIDED that I needed to take a break from the biggest cities while driving, because it takes so long getting in and out of them and it’s much easier to get off the Interstate and take a rest stop in more rural areas.

So, I did not even think about going into Dallas.

I had a friend named Aubray, who lived in the small city of Wichita Falls, Texas (not the same as Wichita in Kansas). So, I went to go and catch up with her. I had planned to stay for two nights there.

The last time I’d seen Aubray, she was eating cheap dumplings in a rundown side street restaurant in China. We had got talking and I found her an interesting and inspiring young woman. Aubray was in her twenties and a born-again Christian, very open minded and accepting of people. I loved her interpretation of the Bible, her values and how she treated people. Catching up again in Wichita Falls in late 2016, we discussed the elections and politics in general. She had some friends with her too, and it was…

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.