Wild, Weird, Windy Wellington

I visit New Zealand’s capital city: a cultured and beautiful town assaulted endlessly by nature’s forces at ‘the head of Māui’s fish’

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

--

Updated on 3 October 2022, with extra material at the start.

AT the end of September 2022, I revisited Wellington, which was living up to its ‘windy Wellington’ reputation with awful spring weather.

The author in front of the Windy Wellington sign

I managed to get an Airbnb in the embassy-studded hilltop suburb of Khandallah for only NZ $60 a night.

Looking down on lesser mortals from Khandallah

On the 29th, I went for a hike along the lovely Kaiwharawhara Bridle Track, which runs between Khandallah and the nearby, equally hilly suburb of Kaiwharawhara.

On Friday, I went to a play called Sonder at Bats Theatre, a really funny and enjoyable “semi-interactive performance” set in a cafe where you had to wander around and talk to people as…

--

--

Mary Jane Walker
A Maverick Traveller

Traveller, journalist, author of 18 books and of 300 blog posts on Medium and on my website a-maverick.com.